Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Advice on Panels for GA Flying?

    Hi All,

    I am in the process of building an A320 cockpit but since I am working on finishing my PPL (started a long time ago!) I want to be able to do some GA flying also to practice some of the manual navigation & instrument skills.

    Has anyone got any recommendations on what panels to use? My options so far are the PM GA IFR product or using FS9 panels directly in multi-monitor mode.

    My experience of the default FS panels are that they are not as smooth or clear as the PM instruments. Are there other options I have missed?

    Any advice is welcome.

    Thanks,
    Ryan.

  2. #2
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,484
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The Flight One C172 is a sweet flyer, it can be spun aswel!

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you are using multi-monitor I can highly recommend reality-xp's guages. For FS9 they have a full set (they are halfway through migrating them to FSX).

    http://www.reality-xp.com/


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Along with the Flight One products, Corenado makes some pretty slick GA aircraft.

    I have the Stationaire 206. It's quite a model. When that six cylinder Lyc fires up, you really know it.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,
    You can also try simple GA panel from http://www.jkroma.pl

    Best regards

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Guys for the info.

    Regarding the Reality-XP panels, the web-site suggests that they can be displayed in a separate window altogether from the main panel in multi-monitor mode.

    Is that an extra FS view or is it a separate OS window on the second screen i.e. is it the same as having an un-docked view?

    cheers,
    Ryan.

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    reality XP gauges

    Quote Originally Posted by magicaldr View Post
    If you are using multi-monitor I can highly recommend reality-xp's guages. For FS9 they have a full set (they are halfway through migrating them to FSX).

    http://www.reality-xp.com/
    Hi

    Reality XP gauges sound great. I have tried to contact them for information, but I have to quote a purchase number (which I don't have 'cos I have not bought anything!!) so does anybody know if the various gauges/dials/displays etc need the mouse to operate various buttons etc - or could I do this through the keyboard? Any other comments about their products?

    Thanks.


    TONY.

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I too sent them an e-mail two weeks ago and have yet to hear from them.

    I take that as an indicator of their customer service so I may hold off on a purchase from them.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Odd, I found them responsive on their forums. Still I have their gauges and the manuals for them so will try to answer as best I can.

    Is that an extra FS view or is it a separate OS window on the second screen i.e. is it the same as having an un-docked view?
    Um, well I have a custom panel I wrote which I drag to my second monitor. Not sure on any other way to run them on another screen.

    so does anybody know if the various gauges/dials/displays etc need the mouse to operate various buttons etc - or could I do this through the keyboard? Any other comments about their products?
    A bit from the manual, note I have never tried this myself:

    keyboard

    Shortcut keys can be configured to map keyboard inputs to some or all of the product functions normally accessible with the mouse. These shortcut keys are only configured in the global product INI file.


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

Similar Threads

  1. Advice on the best sim out there
    By Scooby in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 09:22 AM
  2. Hi new here need a little advice
    By jmneissa in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-02-2008, 02:45 PM
  3. Newbie looking for advice
    By nosecone in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2008, 07:57 PM
  4. FS Flying Benefits to Real Flying?
    By ryanf in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-2008, 02:43 AM