Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A dummies to wiring up a Hagstrom

    Hi folks,

    I am considering picking up a Hagstrom Keyboard Emulator......

    ......but I have never wired anything beyond a plug!

    So if I pick up some switches, how hard is it to wire them into the Hagstrom.

    Is it just 1 wire per switch ? .... or multiple ?

    I'm really just looking for some tips and starter points for a simple switch > wire > Hagstrom connection.

    Thanks!
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    David,

    There need to be two wires per switch........... BUT....... the Hagstrom KE-72 (if that is the one you are buying....it's the best one) allows a common ground for all the 72 switches. So for example, 7 switches can take only 8 wires; one hooked to one pole of each SPST switch.............. and one connected in common to ALL the switches ground connections. So you COULD use only 73 wires for the 72 switches it will support.

    I use CAT 5 cable to connect to many panels.... that allows 7 switches and one ground lead per cable. Keeps things neat. Each cable is labeled with wire labels as to its function and the connections are recorded in the "aircraft" flight systems operations book. All the ground leads of the numerous CAT5 cables can then get connected in common.

    To make a connection you use the switch to connect the wire going to the pole to the ground. When that happens the Hagstrom knows a key is pressed. The programming of the card tells the Hagstrom card what to DO when the switch is "made" (closed) and when it is "broken" (open). It can do different things in each of those cases if you desire.

    best,

    ....................john

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    JBaymore. You make it sound so easy.

    I learn everytime you post about wirering. Great info.

    Now here's a silly reguest. Could you post a pic of what you say above. In a drawing or something.

    I to have not much wireing experience. I have done some but I seem to have used lots of wires to one switch?



    Thanks again.
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    This is a shot of my LP24. It is wired in a matrix configuration that even with diodes has given me problems in the past. I'm seriously thinking of rewiring my overhead with the KE72 that JB is using.



    Header cables are not included, but if you're handy with an iron, you can solder directly as I did. Use an extremely small tip at a medium temp and wire wrap the input pins. If you elect this route, have a magnifier handy to chaeck your work. This is very close stuff.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    David

    Here's a link to an article that you might find helpful:

    http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds?$=main/howto/hagstrom.htm

    I just picked up a KE72 and 2 breakout boards off ebay (I became interested in them after reading the 36 posting of John's cockpit project over at the Simviation site).

    Regards,
    Henry

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dave I am also about to purchase a Hagstrom 72 thanks to advice from John who is answering my post on his forum (whilst it has gone unanswered here!)
    Maybe someone could also write a dummies guide to switches.
    Pushbutton - used for (example)
    Toggle STSP - used for
    Toggle DTDP - used for
    Rotary selector - 1 pole 12 way
    2 pole 6 way
    3 pole 4 way etc - uses and wiring
    Make before Break?
    Rotary encoder - uses and wiring
    I would like to get the switches ordered whilst awaiting delivery of the board here to UK.
    Bill

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    So,from what you say John. Intead of having 20 wirers coming out of my yokes(5 switches each yoke} I could have done it with10?

    THS
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg q.JPG (29.3 KB, 20 views)
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  8. #8
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    sounds good - can anyone give a little more info on websites to purchase and what connection and how much etc.

    thanks!

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You have to buy direct from Hagstrom. There are no distributors.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wow,

    Thanks John and all. Lot's of useful info there, that I need to consider and digest. I'll be honest, on the surface I'm still pretty confused by it all but that's normal with any brand new subject.

    When you are talking about the CAT 5 cables, do you mean without the plugs on the end, and that you therefore use hte individual wire strands for each switch ?

    Sorry - as I said, I really am completely new to wiring anything but I am determined to get there and set up a KE-72!

    Mike - thanks for clearing up that Hagstron have no distributors - I was trawling all the electronics places in the UK but couldn't find any mention of Hagstrom - now I know why!

    I checked eBay here in the UK but there were none available.

    Will keep checking, or just bite the bullet and order from Hagstrom direct. At least they are east coasters so may not take to long to receive!

    Henry - that's a useful link - thanks!

    David
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. multi 4 dummies
    By Jackpilot in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-12-2009, 10:57 AM
  2. Fsuipc offsets for dummies
    By Trevor Hale in forum Cockpit Building Tutorials
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 08:59 AM
  3. 737NG Overhead... For dummies..!?
    By Fuglsang in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-23-2008, 02:29 PM
  4. New Hagstrom Card
    By tunatuk in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2007, 12:15 AM