Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    338
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Interfacing Potentiometers

    As I am moving up a little to the bigger aircraft, I would like to know how a potentiometer can transfer flap readings from the flap lever to the PC?
    I just need to know the electronics. Anyone got a diagram?
    At the moment, I can only think of using a rotary switch interfacing the poles with the key strikes.

    Thanks.


    TONY.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    On most interface cards there are provisions for soldering the wiper, ground, and the resistive element.

    Setting the flap gates is done in FSUIPC.

    For a rotary switch, it won't be very realistic using a keystroke if the gate positions are staggered. Most Boeing throttles have widely staggered gate positions with decreasing throw toward the higher settings. Usually, except for the highest setting in the 727 and 737. That has the longest throw of all the gate stops.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 12-02-2007 at 05:46 PM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Can you not use a potentiometer and calibrate the gate positions with FSUIPC ?

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Uh, yes. That's what I was saying.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Similar Threads

  1. Potentiometers!!!!
    By manhattan in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 06:43 AM
  2. Potentiometers
    By HondaCop in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2009, 10:56 AM
  3. Potentiometers ?
    By spitfire9 in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-31-2007, 01:17 AM
  4. Potentiometers
    By Skydvdan in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2004, 04:46 PM