Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator JWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    492
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unwanted pitch up 6000 ft/min

    Hi,

    I'm using the latest Boeing MCP with CPFlight and encountered a strange problem. When trying to change altitude by using V/S, pressing V/S (after having entered the new altitude) always gives a 6000 ft/min pitch up (nasty when you want to descend).
    Normally pressing the V/S button should give 00, and then you can dial in positive or negative values. I tried this with the CPFLight MCP alone and then things work out just fine. As soon as I use the PM software things go wrong.

    Any ideas how to deal with this?

    JWS

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Check your mcp.ini and look for this line:

    AutoVS=On

    Make sure it's set to on. That way You'll get a VS value that reflects your current vertical speed at the moment you press the button.

    If it's already set to on I'm afraid I'm out of ideas at the moment. However, I'm sure there are others with ideas.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator JWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    492
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Anders,

    I'll try this. Have a new setup and had to reinstall the MCP software without the old ini settings at hand. Possibly I forgot this specific setting.

    Will report the result.

    JWS

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie PaulEMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    20 m N of RWY36R LEMD
    Posts
    200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    JWS.
    Iv'e also had this problem, but had been too busy too sort it out - my answer was to immediately transfer hand to V/S knob, and reduce V/S!

    Not a fix, but it gets you back where you should be!
    Paul

    Project ERJ 145
    www.erj145sim.net

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Okay, not to hijack, but here's a question for those 'in the know'.

    When you change ALT on the autopilot and either increase or decrease its value, should the VS be 0000 FMP or some user-chosen value somewhere between 0000 and 1800 FPM?

    I know where to change this in the aircraft file, just wondering what most transport aircraft should be in this regard.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Eric,

    Depends on the Aircraft. On most 'heavy metal', turning the alt to a new value won't trigger any V/S, until a V/S (or more likely speed/pitch decent) setting is made too.

    However, having flown in a Cessna 172 in real life that had an advanced Bendix Auto-pilot, that device would immediately set a climb or descent of 700 / -700 fpm, as soon as the alt was changed.

    I'm not sure about the Lear, as we know FS applies a 'default' VS of 1800 / -1800 when the Alt value is changed buy my guess would be that in the real aircraft, no V/S would be set when the Alt is changed, until a pitch mode was also set. (V/S or IAS).

    Hope this is what you meant - sorry if I got it wrong and just stated the obvious to you!
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, that is what I was asking. I was aware of it being this way for the heavies, but wasnt sure about the LJ45. Guess I could go to my Pilot Operating Handbook? !
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  8. #8
    Forum Moderator JWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    492
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Gentlemen,

    Nice to have given you an opportunity to share other info with me and others, but the fact remains that I'm still stuck with the same problem now the solution Anders gave (AutoVS=On) doesn't help.

    Funny thing is that I had the whole thing working properly on my old W98SE rig with FS2002. Couple of weeks ago changed to a new machine with XP Pro and FS2004, with the latest MCP 422 and now of a sudden I get this crap. As stated before, when I use the CPFlight MCP stand alone it works like it should. Together with PM I get this problem. Maybe it's the combo? I'll do some further testing and I'm open for suggestions.

    Regards,

    JWS

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi JWS.

    I have noticed this issue and also another issue which I will go into a bit of detail following. The way I work around this issue you speak of is that prior to pressing the autopilot button I adjust my altitude and press the vs button, set the vs, and then press the A/P command button. I find this solves the issue as after the autopilot command mode is selected any further changes to altitude do not seem to create this large VS numeric.

    The other issue I have is while the aircraft is on heading mode only no VS Mode, I get a porpus effect on the aircraft, like the autopilot wants to engage yet realizes it is not supposed to.

    I personally feel that this issue is the new version of MCP, and urge you to try to locate an older version and see if that helps.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    Forum Moderator JWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    492
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trev,

    thought of that also and returned to version 420. The same lame result. I bless myself that I have saved all the previous versions on CD so I can go back to .... well some time ago.

    Regards,

    JWS

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Classifieds and Receiving Unwanted Notices of Posts?
    By Matt Olieman in forum MyCockpit News and Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 08:49 AM
  2. DIR TO : plane turns unwanted
    By pdpo in forum PM Airbus MCDU
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 05:43 AM
  3. Unwanted Sale Postings
    By Tim in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 04:15 PM
  4. How to activate the Pitch Lim Ind. for the NG
    By Brian in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 02:32 PM
  5. Help protect your computer from spyware and other potentially unwanted software with
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 10:30 AM