Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: help needed

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question help needed

    hey im new to the whole "cockpit-building-scene-ish-thing" and im looking for some advice from someone who actually knows what they are doing.
    (unlike myself)
    anyways, my question is if its possible to take an AV input joystick and rewire it to work on a flight-sim, and if so, how?


    and also please dont talk in big words
    haha
    im not stupid but im not a tech dude either
    Last edited by jake172; 11-21-2007 at 10:25 PM. Reason: gay smileys removed and fixed typos but who cares anyways?

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What makes you think anyone here knows what they're doing???

    Anything is possible in electronics. You might need to run the contoller to an inut card, or, it may have one on board, or the card may have been in the AV box. At any rate, you'll need one to get it to work on a PC.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    406
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Jake,

    It would help if you could provide some detail about the AV joystick.

    The short answer is "yes". However, based on the details of what you're starting with, it may or may not be practical to make your desired conversion.

    Most joysticks use a type of variable resistor called a potentiometer. Moving the joystick changes the resistance. There is a potentiometer for each axis. For joysticks to be most easily used for flight sim, they should appear to the flight sim program as a game controller device. Contemporary simulation joysticks generally do this by virtue of having an embedded microcontroller programmed as a USB interface that identifies itself to the computer as a game controller.

    Wiring your AV joystick as a flight sim joystick can be done by making it look like a game controller. The easiest way to do this is to use the electronics from an existing game controller. For example, a Logitech dual-action gamepad can provide this sort of electronics for $15~20.

    Of course, this assumes that your AV joystick makes use of potentiometers. Which brings us back to asking that you provide more detail about the equipment you're starting with.

Similar Threads

  1. Advice needed!!
    By julian.bernard in forum Projector Solutions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 10:06 AM
  2. Help with display set up, needed please..
    By Spoceto1003 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 11:12 PM
  3. TH2Go Help Needed
    By Holclo in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 06:11 PM
  4. 737 CDU - angle needed
    By NicD in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-18-2006, 11:07 AM
  5. Help needed................
    By brianwilliamson in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 11-19-2005, 02:40 AM