Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member carrnflight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    HELP (Salvaged laptop monitors)

    Is it possible and has anyone salvaged a laptop monitor for use in a sim pit? i currently have three trashed laptops with ok monitors that could be used. i'm knowledgable in electronics and soldiering so those aren't issues.

    i looked for a search function to search for this topic first but if there i was not looking in the right place.

    thanks
    john

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    As long as you get the controller board and the inverter, you should be fine.

    Were the displays working OK when they quit?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member carrnflight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile help

    thanks skunk works

    yes all the displays were working fine. have just been unable to repair the other problems. and they were slow machines.

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I just saw some info about this when i was looking at mods for the PSOne screen. I do remeber reading that the controllers can get expensive. but i would think you could take the one out of the laptop.

    Do a Gooogle search for laptop LCD mods........lots of info.

    http://store.earthlcd.com/LCD-Produc...ntroller-Cards Apparently you HAVE to have crontroller in order for the laptop LCD to work with a PC.

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You have to buy special controller in order to hook them to a PC. These controllers are specific to the monitor being used and pretty high in price.
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member carrnflight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool

    so this may not be a very cost effective idea then! will keep researching the topic and will post if any cost effective work arounds are found.

  7. #7
    For under $200 you can buy brand new 19" monitors now. You wont find a new controller for under that to suit your laptop monitor and then you still need to find your inverter. Ebay could be your friend but with prices of lcd being so cheap nowdays doing the laptop to pc conversion isnt worth the time and effort.

    Gary

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    406
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The topic of reusing displays from laptops comes up periodically. Unfortunately, it always turns out to be impractical. Laptop display controllers are incorporated onto the mother board. If you pull the LCD out of the lap top, you're missing half the monitor electronics. The actually row and column drivers may be with the LCD but the timing and control electronics is somewhere else, perhaps embedded inside a custom chip with totally unknown interfacing properties.

    If you're a hardware guy, it's really hard to turn your back on potentially useful screens. There's a little voice only you can hear saying, "Save me, save me." But when you can buy a brand new LCD monitor, fully working, with all the cables, for under $200, the only sensible action is to ignore the voice and walk away.

    Sigh! (Breaks my heart, too.)

Similar Threads

  1. Laptop with 2+ monitors?
    By abrinson in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 03:04 PM
  2. laptop monitor
    By dpurcell in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 01:48 PM
  3. TH2Go on Laptop
    By headshrink in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-11-2009, 10:29 PM
  4. Laptop/CDU display
    By Jackpilot in forum LCD Monitor Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-05-2009, 03:00 PM
  5. Tablet PC vs. Laptop: How Do You Choose?
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 10:30 AM