Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    IMPORTANT: Saitek Yoke

    Folks,

    A few days ago I reported on this site about how wonderful my first impressions of the Saitek Yoke were.

    I need to revise this view and give some more info.

    I have been experiencing some serious problems with my set up, such as random engine cuts, views changing automatically, pushback activating on it's own, and loss of pitch control in flight.

    I thought that perhaps some of these issues were PM specific ....... until I searched "Problems with Saitek Yoke" under Google this evening.

    (Check it out for yourself).

    It turns out that a huge proportion of users (some say all, Saitek say 'some' are having serious problems with the yoke, including:-

    • Phantom activation of buttons. (not just once in a while, for me this was every minute or so !!!).
    • Loss of pitch axis in flight.
    • FS.cfg failing to 'save' or 'store' axis settings. (lost settings each time you start FS and fly).
    • Even blue screens of death!
    In short, the yoke is unusable in it's current state. Saitek are not recalling and buyers have to simply exchange units but the problem is this was a HUGELY back ordered item and there are tens of thousands of units stocked around the world - hence people are having the units exchanged 4 or 5 times and finding no improvement! What a mess - I owe an apology to CH for asserting that the Saitek as a bettr product when it is in fact fatally flawed.

    Back to the CH for me for now

    Very disappointing Saitek - I would have to urge anyone thinking of buying the Saitek Yoke to steer well clear until hte web is telling a different picture.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    HMMMMM i have two of the TQs but i have not been useing them i hope they do not have those issues i guess i will have to hook them up and go for a few flights. One thing I have noticed with my X52 is that the pots are not very good because if im in the sim i constantly get movment in my slider -maped to Mixture control and my elevator trim is the sameway.

  3. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If i wasn't building my own before the saitek yoke came out i would have bought it.

    it certainly looks the business.
    thanks for informing us - pleased i made my own after all

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well..... I stayed up until 2am last night, uninstalling the Saitek yoke and throttle and re-installing my CH Yoke and Throttle. (including all the assignments).

    It wasn't a happy moment - the frustrating thing is that the Saitek does look and feel great but with the current serious problems, it is frankly unusable. So at least on the positive side, a whole list of problems I have been getting (that I did not realise were related to the Saitek Yoke & throttle), are GONE !

    Good old CH Products

    What a waste of money though and I don't think I will be able to return or exchange my Saitek, as I customized the throttle. (fitted authentic Boeing throttle lever knobs).

    Anyway.... you live and you learn! ......onwards and upwards and all that ! Saitek have joined my software and hardware developers blacklist following this. I mean, it is reasonable to expect perhaps one or two niggles when buying into a brand new designed unit, but to have random, uncommanded button press actions and axis movements going off around once every minute is unacceptable - especially where one of those uncommanded button presses relates to the FS auto engine cut-off ....... not good while climbing out !

    Back to plan B - I am going to buy an authentic B737 replica yoke from Simparts and custom fit it to the CH's control tube.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi David,
    Want to get rid of that Saitek? I might be interested in picking it up.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Andy,

    I don't think the shipping from England to Hawaii would be feasible buddy !

    (I think it would cost more than the Yoke by several times )
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oh well.
    I was hoping you were on my side of the planet.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  8. #8
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    how much were you thinking for it to be taken off your hands. we could maybe agree on a deal for it.

    PM me if your interested.

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    To be honest I think I'll hang on to it for now - PaulEMB has pointed me towards Peter Dowson's FSUIPC page where apparantly a fix that improves the problem is available (although I suspect it is for FSX only).

    The Saitek is the first hardware control device available that is heavily tied to FSUIPC so the problems may be linked to this and the situation could hopefully improve if Peter is able to address the problems from his end.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  10. #10
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thats fine by me i was just giving you the canopy release rope if your needed it

    good luck in getting it running correctly

    regards geremy

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Saitek Pro Flight Yoke Mod
    By Jordan Farmer in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 03:56 AM
  2. Saitek Yoke/TQ issues - If you have one, pls read
    By richard hutchinson in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 01:10 PM
  3. I need ur help URGENTLY regarding Saitek yoke
    By HondaCop in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 09:44 PM
  4. NEED help with saitek pro flight yoke
    By rionthai in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 07:47 AM
  5. Saitek TQ, CH Yoke
    By ak49er in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2008, 10:04 PM