Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Spooling up delay driving me mad!

    Hi all,

    Can anyone advise me how to reduce the delay that occurs in the engines spooling up, when I advance my throttles, when using PM ?

    I wholly appreciate there is a spooling delay on a jet engine but on my set-up, when I advance throttles nothnig happens for 3-4 seconds before the engines start to spool, which is unrealistic.

    Also, I believe this issue is causing some problems I have with speed control using the MCP, (where speeds are shooting through because of slow spooling).

    I checked the 737700 file in the CDU for this but couldn't find anything that obviously relates to this spooling speed parameter.

    Any pointers ?

    Thanks,
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    David,

    If you hit F4 (max thrust) do you still get the problem? If you don't then try calibrating your throttle. If the problem is still there with F4 then sorry, don't know the answer.

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have watched many videos on 737 takeoffs.. There is a substantial delay in spool up when you advance the throttles. You are supposed to do it in at least 2 stages... 40 to 60% "depending on who you talk to" and then advance to take off thrust.. Watch the videos there is a delay..
    Bob Reed

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Slightly off topic, but not really...

    I have noticed lately that when starting the engines on the Learjet PMRJ, that sometimes the first stage (N1) is not showing hardly any movment at all until after getting a lightoff at 21% N2. Then, sometimes I do get normal slow movment on N1. It's like a software lag or something. Also, my Copilot PMRJ screens have been in weird places lately when starting that client, it's moving after starting it's PC.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I used to fly a diffrerent 727 before the DF came along, and it too had engines that took forever to spool. JT-8D's don't take THAT long to come up from ground idle.

    The parameters to change are in the .air file and I was able to get a more realistic spool-up time by adjusting a few parameters.

    I don't know where it is in PM, but I think that has more to do with the flight model than the PM program.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Check if flaps, spoiler and trim seem to respond slow aswell. If so it's most probably network lag. I suffered from it at before I tweaked my lan and everything that was supposed to show on that pc runnin the GC software (upper eicas) lagged behind with 5/10 seconds.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cheers guys, I'll check these things out. As I said, I know there is a spool up delay for real, but this case is excessive. I suspect Anders is correct and it's a network delay that I'll need to tweak out.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are the engines actually taking that long to spool, or is it just the PM display taking that long to catch up...?
    Bob Reed

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member rob747's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    East Grinstead, UK (EGKK)
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Interesting reading this. I've noticed a considerable slow down of spool up to Take Off Thrust when useing the TOGA on my 747. This was fine up until the latest version. Example: Arm VNAV and Autothrottle's (GC Displays Blank TOGA TOGA, VNAV Armed). Spool up to 40%, Engine's stable so then hit THR (TOGA) and then it's real slow getting to take-off power..... like I said - only started to happen in this latest GC version.

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by rob747 View Post
    Interesting reading this. I've noticed a considerable slow down of spool up to Take Off Thrust when useing the TOGA on my 747. This was fine up until the latest version. Example: Arm VNAV and Autothrottle's (GC Displays Blank TOGA TOGA, VNAV Armed). Spool up to 40%, Engine's stable so then hit THR (TOGA) and then it's real slow getting to take-off power..... like I said - only started to happen in this latest GC version.
    Hi Rob! This is a known prob with the latest MCP build. Enrico is working on it. (Hmm something familiar with this last sentence)

    Revert to an earlier mcp build or spool them up manually until you're almost there before hit toga.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. LED Delay.
    By riche543 in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 05:43 AM
  2. This script driving me crazy
    By verticallimit in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 03:25 PM
  3. Spooling Up
    By Mac in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-03-2009, 06:59 AM
  4. Re: PFD Delay
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-30-2004, 05:18 PM
  5. Re: PFD Delay
    By Peter Dowson in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2004, 11:37 AM