Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: confused

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Warren, AR
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    confused

    I am just starting to try building a switch panel. I have x-plane, flight sim-x. What i want to do first is just wire some switches for landing lights,landing gear switch.My question is this. which board would I start off with. I can wire the switches. Do I also have to know programing or can I just flip the switch and let x-plane's assignment take care of it as I pick out the use? Hope this makes sense.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There are quite a few boards that will allow you to do what you are trying to do. Before spending the money, ask yourself how far you are going to get into this.

    IUf all you're after is a simple control panel for a few functions, any of the Hagstrom boards make for a good start.

    Keystrokes are easily assigned with included simple software.

    If you might want to take this along a lot farther down the road aways, there are a lot of boards out there t investigate.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Warren, AR
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing Skunk Works View Post
    There are quite a few boards that will allow you to do what you are trying to do. Before spending the money, ask yourself how far you are going to get into this.

    IUf all you're after is a simple control panel for a few functions, any of the Hagstrom boards make for a good start.

    Keystrokes are easily assigned with included simple software.

    If you might want to take this along a lot farther down the road aways, there are a lot of boards out there t investigate.
    Thanks a lot for the reply, At the present I have all the CH Products. Not sure really just how far I'll go, on fixed income so have to build a lot of stuff I have. Also I am not into jets at all. All my time in Air Force was working on and flying on C-47, A-26 and KB-50's. Although 72 years young old fashion in flying. Like to see the props. I'm even looking at a way to hook up one of those air fresh things if I can get a exhaust smell and have it go off when I flip the start button on the engine. Smell vision hows that.
    Again thanks for help and talk to you later.

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Mr Don,

    An alternative option for you is :-

    http://www.chproducts.com/retail/mfp.html

    With this unit, you can "build" your own control panel, locate the buttons wherever you want, and assign any of the FS controls to the buttons.

    Could be a good starting point, to extend your simulation.

    Regards,
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Or you could just hack a joystick.

    If you have a saitek x-52, you have several buttons and pots that can be assigned in FS for whatever you like

    And you can still be able to use the joysticks throttle and rudder/elevator/aileron


  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Another option to consider is hacking an old keyboard, there are some articles floating about on the web about this. It also has the benefit of being a cheap option over custom interface boards.


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smell-o-vision!
    Very cool idea. Use an ion air cleaner to give you an ozone type smell... Never thought of that.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

Similar Threads

  1. Hi, Rob here, a bit confused...
    By LancasterBob in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 06:33 PM
  2. Really confused!!
    By mondo50m in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 01:15 PM
  3. so confused
    By twin50 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 02:05 PM
  4. Confused
    By AndyT in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 04:10 AM
  5. Totally Confused
    By jb747 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 05:17 PM