Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    727 Instrument Panel Work

    The second 4" Collins bezel arrived today for the ADI. It still looks squashed, but I think I'm going to take a screen shot of the ADI, print it out and cut out the top of the ADI frame and glue it to the top of the monitor frame underneath the bezel. The ball will be all the way to the edge of the screen and the frame will be on the monitor edge.



    I also had to do something about the 4" airspeed indicator hole. I changed it to a 3.5" instrument hole so the instrument would be centered in the cutout.
    Now I need to make the bezel for it. This hides the monitor frame on the top and left of the instrument.



    And finally, I finished up the altimeter bezel. The altimeter also suffers from being at the top of the screen and is not quite big enough for the bezel. I may do the same with the altimeter as I'm going to do with the ADI. Except that I'll loose the needle at the top of the gauge.



    Compromise...I hate it, but it's a neccesary evil with this MIP.





    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mike I feel I need to ask this, and if you don't want to answer, thats fine. I understand your requirement to continue to use the original parts and I am really excited for you, however is there not a way that you could (modify) the eyebrow (glare shield) in the left corner of the mip that would allow you to raise the monitor up another 2 inches?

    Yes you would have the top left corner of the monitor sticking up out of the borw a tad, but then your instruments could be made to fill the sizes better wouldn't that be better?

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    Mike I feel I need to ask this, and if you don't want to answer, thats fine. I understand your requirement to continue to use the original parts and I am really excited for you, however is there not a way that you could (modify) the eyebrow (glare shield) in the left corner of the mip that would allow you to raise the monitor up another 2 inches?

    Yes you would have the top left corner of the monitor sticking up out of the borw a tad, but then your instruments could be made to fill the sizes better wouldn't that be better?

    Trev
    It's not the glareshield that is causing it, it's the korry's in the pnl he is trying to retain. I ran into the same problem trying to use the stock 737-200 MIP and lcd's. There is very minimal clearance between the instruments and korry switches/annunciators. He might gain a little by removing the lcd from it's frame but is it worth it? Other alternative is custom designed panel to gain a little more room between the parts but then you lose the real feel.

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Have you considered the approach used in the engravity stuff? They use some form of dark glass so they can place the monitor further back to allow for switches according to the site. (yes I been daydreaming that the wife wont notice a few panels just appearing in the house again)

    No idea how they do it, but it might help you use a larger screen by placing it further back thus solving some of your problems? Sure you already thought of it.


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by 737NUT View Post
    It's not the glareshield that is causing it, it's the korry's in the pnl he is trying to retain. I ran into the same problem trying to use the stock 737-200 MIP and lcd's. There is very minimal clearance between the instruments and korry switches/annunciators. He might gain a little by removing the lcd from it's frame but is it worth it? Other alternative is custom designed panel to gain a little more room between the parts but then you lose the real feel.

    You're right, it's not the glareshield causing it. The monitor frame is literally (and tightly) wedged under the Korry indicators. There is no space to move the monitor at all. I'm lucky it fit the way it did. One more mm and this wouldn't have worked. The frame on this monitor is VERY thin. I doubt I would have gained more than 4mm top and bottom by removing it from the case. That was a deciding factor in buying this particular monitor.

    Magicaldr, if you've never seen one in person, Korry indicators are about 3+" long after they exit the back of the panel. I think moving it that far back creates more problems than it solves for an analog type panel.

    In addition, the APD is about 4.5" deep with the monitor wedged under it as well.

    Like I said, I've got a few tricks to try to fix the ADI.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi BSW!

    If you have the original steam gauges it's possible to use them together with synchros, steppers and servos.

    A former neighbour of mine has built a SAAB AJS 37 Viggen pit with all the original (modified though) parts working using iocards.

    He even has the stickshaker and G force simulation working.

    I have flown it several times and it's astonishing how real the feel is.

    I'm not even close to his skills when it comes to working with servos and stuff but here's a link to his site: http://www.novelair.com

    I'm sure he'd be happy to answer any questions in his forum.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I had given some thought to that in the past.

    This winter I may tinker around with an instrument or two.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thought you would have thought of it already

    Having some overlap on my panel from the standby altimeter / RPM (again monitor not quite big enough) I never really notice it when flying. I hope you didn't mind my suggestion. Showing my lack of knowhow, as you guessed I have not seen a korry indicator in the flesh so had no idea they were that deep


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OK... going the OTHER route, BSW...... how about creating a set of "Korry"s that WILL let the monitor fit so the larger and more obvious instruments display better? Fabricate something that will allow the monitor to fit, and maybe make the copmpromise on the look of the Korry-s..... liekly a less "in your face" compromise.

    best,

    ...........john

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I've been thinking about the problem of using rotarys and korries on a panel that is backed by an lcd.

    I've also seen those touchscreen kits on Ebay for 19" monitors.

    Perhaps one could fashion a korry switch that simply,, when pressed ,,could push against the touchscreen and activate whatever it was supposed to ???

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MD-82 Instrument panel
    By Joe Cygan in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 09:59 AM
  2. Instrument panel knobs to adjust ALT, VOR, AFD, etc
    By nosecone in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-19-2008, 09:00 PM
  3. Need Help with 757/767 Instrument Panel
    By DAL900 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-15-2007, 08:47 PM
  4. First instrument panel
    By superconnie in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-15-2007, 01:44 PM