Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    435
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Help needed................

    Well I have tried to get my first switch going in epic, but no luck.
    Ok have loaded the latest sofware and eprom that Ron listed, and all checks out ok, running windows XP.The programming I used for a switch came from Emda, which is some years old so I suspect that it is out of date, and also badly explained. First instance was it said use a text editor and type in the following code ( it did not explain that you could open up a text editor with FILE/NEW In epic !!!!!)

    #define FASTSCAN 0
    #define SLOWSCAN 1
    definemodule(1,slowscan,0,16)
    definemodule(2,slowscan,0,16)
    :INIT{setinterkey(1)}

    Then save this as an EPL

    Then convert this to DEF file by typing: EPL FIRST

    Where on earth one is supposed to type that and what to do next has got me !!!
    I have got the latest list of syntaxusb V1.0.8.2, but it is pretty hard to figure at this stage, a shame they cannot put a simple program together to show exactly how to make one simple switch work.

    Ok gentleman, any help will be appreciated..............................many thanks...Brian W

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oh Boy.. Here we go!

    Hi Brianů Ok here we go.. First off throw all that documentation away! Are you using FScomm? If so, I am going to be no help. Open EPIC Info and click on start a new project and fill that out. Tell it what directory you want to use and so forth. It will create all that for you. That will get all the files made needed to get started. This does not mean the files are ready to use just there. Lets start with this stepů

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    435
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Bob, I guess we gotta start somewhere. I have been dreading this for a while.It is a shame thay could not have made an instruction manual.....
    No I am not using FS Comm. I figured I would keep it simple to start with....Ok i will go and do as you suggest and get back. Have to play golf in about an hour so will probably have to get into this at daylight in the morning.

    Many thanks Bob.............................Brian W

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Started

    Ok I will be here...

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    435
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Done...........Brian W

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok now in EPIC Info... Are there any files open? If not click on file, open and select name (the name of your project) .epl file. And copy and paste what is in it in here.

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    435
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    /---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    #include
    #include
    //---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    :INIT
    {
    }

    Brian W

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Help

    Ahhhh. There we go.. Now we are getting someplace.... Now when you installed the EPIC software, did you do a full install? If you did there is a directory called docs. There are some helpful ones in there. I need to get a file to you. Can I send it to your listed email address? I don't want to just tell you how to do it I want you to understand why you are doing it and that is a thin line to walk. The PDF file I want to send you explaines a few things that we need to get setup to get started.

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    435
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You are dead right, I need to understand, that is the main objective. That is why I have been complaining about no docs. I did a full install from EPICenter_1062_Full.exe and then the upgrades for XP.etc.and no Doc. Most certainly send the info to my email. It would be greatly appreciated. Once I get one light and one switch to work I am certain I should be able to get a fair way down the track.

    Brian W

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Help

    Ok. Your bible is on the way! We need to setup a few more files and pointers and I think this doc will help explain them. Here it comes... Then we will get to programing that switch.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Advice needed!!
    By julian.bernard in forum Projector Solutions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 10:06 AM
  2. Help with display set up, needed please..
    By Spoceto1003 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 11:12 PM
  3. TH2Go Help Needed
    By Holclo in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 06:11 PM
  4. help needed
    By jake172 in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2007, 11:31 PM
  5. 737 CDU - angle needed
    By NicD in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-18-2006, 11:07 AM