Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    10+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Yet another cheap and easy to build motion platform!

Hello everyone,

I'm new here (I just joined last week). When I introduced myself to the forum I mentioned that I've built a motion platform. AndyT reply to my post immediately and requested that I post pictures, diagrams, etc. Well here it is. I don't pretend to know all the answer far from it. Actually, it's my first time doing this and I'm sure some of you guys are much better at this than me. Just before I begin I want to say that I took many great ideas from Jim at http://www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm and from Roland van Roy at http://www.simprojects.nl/. I'm sure you have visited these sites already. They are simply superb sites that give lots of information about building motion platforms.

Ok the specs are: (refer to the pictures)

- 2 axis platform.
    - The top of the platform is 4 feet on the roll axis by 6 feet on the pitch axis. I figure I will have enough space for 2 passengers (One can dream no ?). The bottom part of the platform is 5 feet on the pitch axis by 3 feet on the roll axis.
    - I needed a platform that could move around about 500 pounds.
    - I use 2 Ford Crown Victoria 1997/1998 wiper motors. One for each axis. They cost about 50 Canadian dollars each if you buy them used.
    - I used a pulley system. The more pulleys you use the less torque it creates on the motor shaft. The drawback of this is of course a slower movement.
    - I use a high quality ansi standard #25 (1/4 inch between the links) chain and 2 sprockets (one for each motor) of 23 teeth. I needed about 25 feet of chain. The cost was about 100 dollars for the 2 sprockets and the chain.