Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Multiple monitors

    Hi,

    I'm planning to build a professional simulator with three (3) projectors + a instructor station. I have selected FS2004 as the sim software.

    I would like to hear from anyone who has build a sim with multiple monitors/projectors using:

    * 1 computer an multiple monitor cards
    * multiple computers using WideViewFS

    Any suggestions would help.

    Regards

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Monitors

    Hello and welcome Peter. Man I could go on and on about this. It is very tricky. 1st problem is Multiple monitors with multiple cards is a no go. It's VERY tough to get acceleration on more then 1 video card. In fact if you do get it to work, it will not be usable as each extra card kills the performance! Martox puts out a card called the Parhelia which will run 3 monitors very well. If you do not like that then you have to go with a program called WideView. WideView has itís own problems to start with every view is a computer. You also lose things like AI traffic and some of the cloud stuff. Lining all the horizons up is tough too. Might be easier with projectors. If you are going to use 3 projrctors I would go with the Matrox card.

  3. #3
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have some builder friends who are using the Matrox Parhelia with three monitors, but they also using top of the line computer power, and max memory. Theres different ways to go, there ARE options.

    My system is 1 projector, but, I've got total of 8 computers, one being for an instructor station. Besides the Projector or FS computer, you don't need much power.

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Check this out:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/motherbo..._cards-11.html
    Worth looking into for top line setup.................................Brian W

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Many thanks

    Thanys for your input guys, it's stearing me in the right direction. A further question, is it a drama to setup FS2004 to drive multiple monitors? Can you point me in the right direction for information on this?

    Regards

Similar Threads

  1. FSX Multiple monitors
    By abxnightpilot in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 12:12 PM
  2. Multiple monitors setup
    By bubbapat in forum LCD Monitor Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2009, 07:55 AM
  3. Multiple Monitors with USB to VGA?
    By totalflyer in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-08-2009, 02:58 AM
  4. FS9 vs FSX on multiple monitors
    By jytte in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 02:35 PM
  5. Using Multiple Monitors with Windows XP
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 10:30 AM