Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Help! Getting the PM 737 demo to work

    Hi,

    I am trying to use the PM 737 demo (Glass cockpit, CDU, MCP).

    When I launch the glass cockpit software (with or without FS running), I get nothing but a black screen, with 3 buttons; "Next", "Exit" and "Normal Graphics". There are no PFD, ND or EICAS gauges visible.

    I am using a ATI X1950 512Mb graphics card, Win XP SP2.

    Also, the screen on the CDU is similarly black (the FMS unit itself is visible but the screen is black).

    The MCP is working fine!

    Any pointers? I emailed PM support but they've no advice to offer for this other than "check graphics card drivers", which are the latest ATI Catalyst Control Centre drivers, version 7.9.

    Any pointers on this problem ?

    Thanks,

    David
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A couple of things. Did you go through your "F-KEYS" to switch the screens?

    Press the "ESCAPE KEY" and choose "reset positions" Do you see the bezels? or nothing??

    If flightsimulator and wideclient are running, Turn your battery switches on.. if they are off, your displays will be blank.

    Just a couple of things to try buddy.

    Let me know, I should be around for some of the day.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah, make sure that the aircraft in FS is up and running, at least that the battery and avionics are turned ON. That is one thing I love about the PMRJ software. When you have the software running, it wont show until I turn on the Avionics button.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Trev & Eric - I'll try those tips.

    I did try the F-keys but nothing happened. I should have mentioned that I have previously tried the PM Airbus suite and it worked fine.

    I will try again and check the avionics and battery status and check back!

    Cheers!
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What happens if you run the demo with no Widefs running? Do you get the video test and score? If not it is probably a video driver issue.
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bob,

    All sorted now! I reinstalled the latest drivers and all looks good now!

    Still undecided on whether to go down the PM route, or whether to go as far as I can with a 'PMDG only' set up. (inspired by Westozy!).

    I'm unlikely to do much in the way of hardware overhead panel (will probably just use a large monitor fitted to the overhead and stick with mouse / key commands for the overhead, so therefore the only real value I see from PM glass cockpit would be slightly nicer gauges and the ability to run off a networked PC. But I am getting great PC performance from 1 PC so it's a hard one to call!

    Thanks for the help,
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    David,

    I see your from Durham. I was born in Shotton Colliery, Co. Durham back in the 1940's and moved here to Canada in '75. I see your using PMDG. Hang in there as they may come up with an equivalent package to Project Magenta at the beginning of next year. So rather than spend $1,300.00 US wait and see what PMDG do with the 737 NG II (they're building it for FS9 at this time, not FSX)

    Also with a little bit of patience and a keyboard emulator, Key2Mouse, and FSUIPC you can get about 80+% functionality with hardware switches and annunciators using the PMDG overhead.

    Rob

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Rob,

    Wow - I am 5 miles from your birthplace of Shotton Colliery - I am in Easington Village, just up the road! I bet you would not recognise Shotton these days, I'm sure you know that the colliery has gone. There are lots on new housing estates. (I mean lots!).

    But luckily the airfield is still there (was it there pre-1975?) - it has just changed it's name from "Shotton Airfield" to "Peterlee Aerodrome". It is even feaured in the UK2000 Part 8 scenery package for FS9, by Gary Simmons.

    I am definately staying with the PMDG route for now. As you've suggested, I am excitedly awaiting their new 737NG offering (amongst others). I have yet to investigate the possibilities of Key2mouse but will check it out.

    Great to hear from a fellow East Durham cockpit builder - I'm sure Alberta is as beautiful as East Durham!

    Best regards,

    David
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  9. #9
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mounty View Post
    David,

    So rather than spend $1,300.00 US wait and see what PMDG do with the 737 NG II (they're building it for FS9 at this time, not FSX)

    Rob
    Where did you hear this little gem Rob? Is this different to the NGX?

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Gwyn,

    Heard it on the grapevine. I guess PMDG have had a lot of pressure to develop a product that was good for cockpit building and could compete with PM on the interface side. PMDG announced in September that they had made a decision to develop the next 737 for the FS9 platform instead of FSX, and it would be released in the new year. Of course they wouldn't release any information as to what this would look like but I heard from Ian Sissons that they are looking at a PM lookalike kinda thing with user interfaces for overhead etc. Regardless of what the final product might look like I am sure it will be builder friendly!

    Curerntly with PMDG I have some 57 overhead switches working using Key2Mouse, a Hagstrom Keyboard Encoder, and FSUIPC. Very simple to use, which suits me as I'm not exactly a "techie" - need "do a, then b, then c etc!" These are the switches that control all lights, Yaw Damper, Fuel Panel, Elec. Bus, APU, Supply/Exhaust, Window Heat, Probes, Anti Ice, Eng/Elec Gens, Fans, Packs, APU Bleeds, NS/Seat Belts, Starters.

    Rob

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Entertaining Air NZ In-flight Demo
    By AlexJ in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 04:04 PM
  2. FSweekend motion cockpit demo
    By Roland in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 03:28 PM
  3. 4,5 nov FS Weekend with with FSX demo in the Netherlands
    By ekezz in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-13-2006, 03:12 AM
  4. Re: CDI movement in PMRJ demo
    By Enrico Schiratti in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-21-2006, 08:38 AM
  5. CDI movement in PMRJ demo
    By Mark Wisted in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 11:56 AM