Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member superconnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Seat shakers - experience?

    I would like to install seat shakers in my cockpit... does someone have experience with those things?

    What sound do you use to get a good effect? Is it good enough to just hook the shakers to an amplifier and let them "play" the normal sounds or do you need some customized low frequency sounds to create a good sensation?

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    70
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you fly MSFS then you might want to check - www.ivibe.com, works with widefs as well. really adds to the immersion imho.
    You might want to check out the forums though. There isn't a lot of other software it works with at the moment.
    My setup:
    pc 1: MSI K9NSli, onboard sound and lan, LC AMD 6400X2, 4096mb corsair 800ddr2, Pcie 7600GT with 32" lcd@1360x768
    pc 2:Asus mobo, onboard sound and lan, Athlon xp2800, 1.5gb pc4200, agp 4200Ti and 10.4" touchscreen lcd@1024x768
    pc 3:generic mobo, Athlon xp2400, 1gb 133 ram, agp Radeon 9200, pci Radeon 9250 with dual psone vga lcds @768x576
    Cougar, f16u, 7.1 sound, 4.1 sound, Trackir 4pro and vrf tfs seat pack.

  3. #3
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I don't have seat shakers but do have what I believe to be a valid alternative. I have a Y splitter on the sound output of the PC, one side goes to some normal cheap powered PC speakers and the other side goes to two channels of a powered mixing desk. The normal PC speakers are tuned to the higher frequencies, (more treble) and the mixing desk powers 2 x 400w sub woofers bolted to my seats. The EQ on the mixing desk is tuned with the bass settings up high. On take off roll, it thunders and the gear doors closing is like a kick in the bum! It is VERY effective, the powered mixing desk is a bit of overkill but I'm a muso and have a few of these things, a simple second hand hifi component amplifier from a pawnbroker will do the same trick and that is what I intend to buy sooner or later to replace the mixing desk.

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...php?photo=1104

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member superconnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the tipps...

    Westozy: What you have is more or less a seat shaker. The difference is that the seat shaker is designed to be mounted under a seat and has no membrane. But I think your version works better if you have a original seat with thick upholstery. Did you drill holes into the bottom of the seat?

    AndyT: I have already seen that. If your seat is on a single post it's perfect. It's a seat shaker with an attachment.

    I think I first have to look in what condition my seats are. I will get some original DC-7 pilot seats from an airplane used for evacuation drills in Geneva. The Connie seats "disappeared" somehow from our scrap airplane in Arizona.

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    "AndyT: I have already seen that. If your seat is on a single post it's perfect. It's a seat shaker with an attachment."

    There is also this kit....

    http://www.shakercentre.co.uk/aspbit...*Q*intCatID=16

    Cheers
    Mike

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's not the only one they have....

    http://www.thebuttkicker.com/products.htm
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  8. #8
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    [quote=superconnie;42697]Thanks for the tipps...

    Westozy: What you have is more or less a seat shaker. The difference is that the seat shaker is designed to be mounted under a seat and has no membrane. But I think your version works better if you have a original seat with thick upholstery. Did you drill holes into the bottom of the seat?


    There is just 3 tec screws drilled in to the steel floor pan of the seat and a small bracket on the fourth speaker mounting hole, they shake the whole framework, it's great fun!

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  9. #9
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I can vouch for Gwyn's Bum shakers as I copied the same idea. I have mine powered from a 25W PC Sub woofer amp under my seats and I have to keep turning down the power as it rattles my seat springs. Yes you should put them through some sort of EQ in order to filter out the Bass frequencies so they aren't rattling to all other sounds.

    I think JBaymore has experience with the genuine Aural Bass Shakers though?

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Kennair View Post
    I think JBaymore has experience with the genuine Aural Bass Shakers though?
    Yeah, I do. There is another thread here in the "Sound" section that talks about that stuff.... don't want to repeat it now. I'll see if I can find it and put in a link.

    I have used both subwoofer speakers AND the Aura Bass Shakers (not Buttkickers). I would take the Aura components for this function any day over speakers. Speakers are designed to make SOUND. Bass shakers are designed to produce vibrations without significant sound. This allows you to tune the sound quality in the pit for good realism and yet STILL get high levels of vibrations. It removes any linkage between audible bass sound and the vibrations you feel.

    And I have a nice cushy padded seat and the two Aura Bass Shakers are mounted into the seat base...... not on the seat itself....and I have to keep the rather tiny sub-woofer amp running pretty low to keep from rattling myself right off the seat.

    I always found with the sub woofer mounted ion the seat that I had to have the sound pressure level in the cockpit way too high for realism, and the high end / low end balance was WAY out of whack to get good vibrations.

    best,

    .................john

Similar Threads

  1. anyone know where to get realistic bass shakers for pilot seat.
    By Geremy Britton in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 12-17-2012, 07:07 AM
  2. Amp for bass shakers ???
    By Nick1150 in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 08:04 PM
  3. Which car seat could make a good platform for a 737NG seat ?
    By Nick1150 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 05:17 PM
  4. help chosing an amp for my base shakers
    By jaspar in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 08:33 AM
  5. Stick Shakers
    By rt72 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-04-2008, 02:11 AM