Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    keyboard emmulation

    if anybody is using a keyboard emmulation can you wire rotary encoders up to a keyboard card. i know you can with push buttons and toggles but i dont know about rotaries.

    Anyone shed some light?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You would need a rotary encoder (Decoder card) See www.hcbparts.com They have a card that turns each rotary direction into a switch input.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    70
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think Hagstrom does one as well.
    My setup:
    pc 1: MSI K9NSli, onboard sound and lan, LC AMD 6400X2, 4096mb corsair 800ddr2, Pcie 7600GT with 32" lcd@1360x768
    pc 2:Asus mobo, onboard sound and lan, Athlon xp2800, 1.5gb pc4200, agp 4200Ti and 10.4" touchscreen lcd@1024x768
    pc 3:generic mobo, Athlon xp2400, 1gb 133 ram, agp Radeon 9200, pci Radeon 9250 with dual psone vga lcds @768x576
    Cougar, f16u, 7.1 sound, 4.1 sound, Trackir 4pro and vrf tfs seat pack.

  4. #4
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here's an alternative, it's a Pulse Switch that applies a keypress in one direction and a different keypress when turned in the other. Apply it to a keyboard encoder or joystick. These are currently from Mouser, but might be available elsewhere if you search.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's ingenious. Too bad it's a pc board mount. I'll have to check my catalog and see if it's offered in a different style.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The pulse switches work, but they are not as smooth as a rotoary, I have several. BSW I have some that are PC mount as well but they have the threaded collar I got them from Mouser. I think they where less then $3.00 each. I am not using too many now but the ones I have are in my EFIS panels for the BAR adjustment and Decision hight.
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the info on the threaded collar. That makes it a lot more versatile for the builder.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing

    THe pulse switch looks interesting - could someone provide me with a direct link to the exact pulse switch you are talking about. As i can find it too well on the site and there is more than one.

    Thanks in advance

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    They have defiantly gone up in price since I last bought them but here is the link to the ones I got. http://www.mouser.com/search/Product...105-SR10030-PS
    Bob Reed

  10. #10
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for all your help - that has realy helped

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Using FMC as Keyboard?
    By wody in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 12:58 PM
  2. KEYBOARD CODES??
    By manhattan in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 10:11 PM
  3. Can a keyboard be used...
    By shearder in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 02:32 PM
  4. Keyboard
    By Mac in forum MyCockpit Member Meetings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 09:19 AM
  5. FCU / Keyboard Commands
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-31-2005, 02:05 PM