Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Assigning axes in FSUIPC

    I have a playstation style gampad which i want to assign as a rotary to change radio frequencies etc.. Flight simulator detects the axis (y/x) but only lets me assign flaps, throttles, speed brake, etc. not radio change

    So I tried FSUIPC because i heard that you can do this.

    But i dont know how to do - if it is possible even.

    I have the roatry part of the gamepd the bit that moves around in circles. but i need to know if this can be assigned to a rotary function in fsuipc for flight simulator as i previously mentioned something like the comm radios that turn to change the frequency.

    can the gamepad be assigned to do this by it 2 rotaries on the gamepad.

    This may well be a question for Peter Dowson but if anybody else can help - feel free!

    Any help is better than none thay always used to say!

    Thanks in advance,

    Geremy

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Geremy,

    No a rotary pot can't be assigned to your Comms selector. You'll need a rotary encoder or a similar rotary switch to do that job. Essentially FSUIPC can't acheive anything that you can't already achieve in FS itself. So if you can't assign it in FS then you won't be able to in FSUIPC. This program simply gives you a lot more flexibility and adjustment options that you can't get in FS, but it still uses only what FS will allow.

    So where does that leave you? The game pad rotary can be used for functions like, Trim, Toe Brakes, Speed brakes, Flaps etc. Your com/nav selections will have to be done with a rotary encoder (which you'll find a lot of discussion about here) or a simulated rotary encoder, which you will find a description of on my website HERE

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IJmuiden, Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have another opinion than Ken. FSUIPC can do a lot more than the FS assigment menu and even a lot more than tweaking the fs.cfg file.

    Read the docs of fsuipc, especially the part about axis assignment.
    It is possible to connect a key to a part of the potmeter. So the first part of the movement shoul be connected to comm 1 nav decrease end the second half to increase. (I do not know by head right now wheter there is a keycombination to tune every comm/nav radio seperately. If that would be the case , you could do it with fsuipc.

    FSUIPC is a very powerfull module. The docs are very extensive and not easy for novice simmers, but study them.

    Regards

  4. #4
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Geremy,

    Norbert is absolutely correct, this can be done with the key assignment method. I jumped the gun in my first response, but have studied the docs more and found that you can assign a keypress to occur when the pot is turned in one direction and a different keypress when turned in the other. And even assign different key events when the pot enters different ranges. You assign this in the Axis Assignment section where it says "Control sent when range entered". In the parameter field you would put the keypress code (found in the Advanced Users guide). Not an ideal method but works none-the-less.

    And yes you would need to study the users guide and Advanced users guide to get your head around the assignations for this. FSUIPC is very powerful and I certainly wouldn't be without it but like everything in this hobby it takes lots of study.

    Good luck,

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  5. #5
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ken,
    I cannot seem to find the headings you are refering to my FSUIPC has the tabs as follows:

    -about
    -winds
    -visibilty
    -clouds
    -technical
    -logging
    -hot keys
    -buttons
    -keys
    -joysticks

    and i cannot fond it under any of these?

    could you give me some guidance perhaps

    Thanks

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It's not a tab by itselt, it's within the Key Assignment tab.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks, found it and worked it all out looks very good!

    Thanks for your help, everyone

Similar Threads

  1. Axes or switch on throttle
    By verticallimit in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 04:22 PM
  2. fustration usd axes card
    By Radar in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-01-2008, 06:12 PM
  3. fustration usd axes card
    By Radar in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 05:01 PM
  4. Assigning buttons in FSUIPC thru client MCP
    By Simran737 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 03:45 PM
  5. How to stop an axes affecting slew mode?
    By NicD in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2007, 03:47 AM