Header Fly Engravity
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Interface board

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Interface board

    Hi Guys.

    Can someone tell me what this means?


    {You will also get 32 Digital Switches using an X/Y matrix
    arrangement.}


    It's from this board http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/joystick/index.html
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Radar,

    Matrix type connections allow a circuit to get away with fewer components. Any specific location on the matrix is a combination of X and Y coordinates on a grid.

    Q R
    A-------|--------|---------------------
    | |
    B-------|--------|--------------------
    | |
    C-------|--------|---------------------
    | |
    D-------|--------|---------------------

    (Sorry I can't get the lines to line up correctly... but the font is not allowing it. Think of the Q and R as being located OVER the lines running vertically.)

    Now, I can connect one leg wiring of a key to the location BR, and have that location when connected to Ground send the keypress "1". I can then connect a wire to location BQ and have it send the keypress "2".

    You'll notice that the circuit for the B line already has TWO possible keys that it can send. These kinds of circuits are prone to what is called ""ghosting"....sending keypresses that aren't intended.

    A better approach is to have discrete inputs for such work.... but it is more expensive because of the added complexity of doing so.

    best,

    ....................john

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    This device has 6 X inputs and 6 Y inputs. That means you can connect 36 switches to it..... on the web page you provided take a look at the diagram on the right which shows the switch matrix and how the switches are connected together. Because 4 of the switches are reserve for the Hat switch, that leaves you a possible 32 switches.

    Regards,
    Henry

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,446
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Stay away from matrix boards - old technology, as John says - ghosting issues etc.

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, NThusimPlus, Aerosim Solutions hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,881
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Matrix boards are not that bad.. Just have to use a diode to keep from getting the ghosting....
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    By the time you bother with all the time to solder in all the diodes plus the cost of solder and diodes...... why not just spend a couple of bucks more for discrete inputs? My $0.02.

    best,

    ..................john

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by JBaymore View Post
    By the time you bother with all the time to solder in all the diodes plus the cost of solder and diodes...... why not just spend a couple of bucks more for discrete inputs? My $0.02.

    best,

    ..................john

    Discrete inputs? What are they, and can I still use this board with discrete inputs?

    THKS JB
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,881
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What board do you have?
    Bob Reed

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/joystick/index.html
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    What board do you have?
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,148
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Descreet inputs on a board are also called direct inputs. A matrix is not used.

    The inputs on a matrix board can in most cases also be used in a direct mode, but will cut down on your inputs dramatically.

    If you have 36 imputs for use in matrix mode, I think the inputs get cut down to 12, but my math may be faulty.

    I will no longer use a matrixed input board as I don't like dealing with the diodes.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Another Interface board question..
    By mach7 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 09:12 PM
  2. My I/O USB board
    By washburn_it in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 06:47 PM
  3. New rotary encoder interface board
    By brynjames in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2008, 07:03 PM