Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Gauge faces ?

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Gauge faces ?

    Is there a depository or something like that that has a collection of gauge bmps somewhere on the internet?

    I have the Fspanel studio software and I'm trying to build the gauges for my MIP (lcds behind the mip) and I really suck at paintshop. So if I could find lots of gauges or gauge .bmps,, it would sure make it a lot easier to find something that looks close to what I want.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    This is an easy one! (Praise God! A question I can answer!)
    Go to www.simkits.com and look at the product pages. You can right-click the guage you want and save it to your hard drive. Then open it up in your graphics program.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing

    Take a look here they have loads of the gauges for the 737 (i dont know what aircraft you are looking for)
    Realy good pictures and print in great quality. With a plexi covering they should look great!

  4. #4
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing

    http://users.skynet.be/jcordon/cockpit/gauges.htm

    click on the ones you want to get full size then simply print it out

    couldn't be easier realy

    Hope this helps

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Great ! Lots of good stuff there.

    I'm in the planning stages of building a Convair 580 sim.

    In a week or so,, I'll have a full post on the plans and some pictures of the start of the shell etc.

    The 580 sim will be as close as possible as the 3 Convairs that fly for the Saskatchewan Govt. (Canada) as fire fighting aircraft.
    They have been heavily modified and have some gauges that you don't see very often,, but I should be able to use the Fspanel software to get pretty close.
    I have most of the controls and panels from a 580 wreck . After looking at some of the work done by the guys here,,,I just about feel like thats cheating ! LOL

    I'm finding out that some of the things that sound easy (in the planning stage) sometimes turn out to be a lot harder than I thought !
    Thanks to the experienced guys sharing ideas on this site ,, I'm also finding out that just about any problem can be solved.

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Near Winnipeg, MB, Canada
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Spit:

    First day back in office.

    Spoke to Bob a few minutes ago and he will take a series of high-res shots of every instrument on the panel and burn it to disk on Wednesday for us. I made it clear that we needed excellent focus, full screen closeups, no glare, etc.

    My 580 manual has some instrument pix, but they are about 19th generation photocopies and regrettably, are useless for our pupose.

    Stand-by to stand-by.

    Lee

  7. #7
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing

    that sounds good could you post them in the downloads section for all of us to look at

    appreciated

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Lee! Thats what I was looking for.

    It'll save me lots of time.

    Yes,, I'll make sure they go in the download section.
    Last edited by spitfire9; 09-24-2007 at 03:07 PM. Reason: Added comment

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737 Gez,, Do you just use normal plexiglass to cover the instruments?

    If so,, what thickness do you suggest ?

    also,, is there much glare from plexi?

  10. #10
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing

    Hi, about 5mm plexi is fine. You dont want it looking too 2d or it will just look like it is paper printed off. So i would use plexi however cutting it is interesting i use the cicular drill bits that fit in a normal dril and drill out the size circle you need. these are very cheap costed me 1.99.

    Also you can use household items for example if you look at these fake insruments i made.

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...8&limit=recent

    The ones on the right have a clear plastic lid i used from a cream tub from tesco believe it or not for the plexi!

    This also gives you idea of the glare it is slight but if your standbys are like mine they are fake anyway!

    Hope that helps

    Geremy

Similar Threads

  1. Yaw damper gauge
    By JWS in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2011, 02:52 PM
  2. gauge needles
    By mondo50m in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 10:16 AM
  3. Where to get gauge needles?
    By twisted8 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 07:22 PM
  4. gauge enquiry
    By silhouette_flyer in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2007, 03:37 AM