Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    3 views with SLI

    Hello

    Have someone try to use 2 VGA cards with SLI connection and to get 3 views?
    As far i can see all they use the TripleHead2Go to get the 3 views.

    With one VGA we can get 2 views (i have try it and works) BUT i don`t know if we connect and second VGA what will happen ,it will give us the third view?

    I ask this before go to buy a second VGA.
    Any testings with SLI?

    I believe the second VGA to give and extra frames. Right?

    Best Regards
    Lambis
    Greece

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Lambis,

    Two things here as far as my investigations have discovered.

    1. SLI turns two video cards into one with the combined power of 2. Therefore your system thinks there is only one BIG video card with only 2 video outputs. However, FS isn't designed for SLI (yet) and can't make use of it.

    2. If you add a second video card BUT don't enable the SLI mode it will give you the power of 1 video card with 4 outputs. When running with 2 cards, the second card only provides spare outputs, not extra grunt.

    So if you are running FS then you can get one BIG video card (say 8800GTX) to run 2 monitors (or 1xTH2GO) and add a second less powerful video card (either PCI-E or PCI depending on your motherboard) and use it's output for the other two screens.

    I can tell you though that a TH2GO will give you the extra 3 views from one VGA port with very little impact on your system framerates, whereas using 3 separate VGA ports will cause a bigger hit.

    Hope that helps,

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you Ken

    I will try to make the second part that you say.

    2. If you add a second video card BUT don't enable the SLI mode it will give you the power of 1 video card with 4 outputs. When running with 2 cards, the second card only provides spare outputs, not extra grunt.

    both cards must is nvidia or ati ? or can i make combination ?
    What have you try and work?
    And both card must is PCI - express or can i use one PIC - express and one PCI?


    Thank you very much for your help.

    Regards
    Lambis

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    With SLI engaged you only get 1 video output. But if you put 2 cards in a SLI capable motherboard you can get 4 video outputs. To run 3 views in FS9 you need a pretty powerful machine but it can be done. I have played with this and it does work.
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Lambis,

    It's just as Bob says, if you add two video cards in the SLI video slots but DON'T engage SLI mode, you will essentially get 1 video card with 4 outputs. You can also achieve similar by having 1 powerful card and add a standard PCI card to give you 4 outputs. As I said the main card does all the work, while the second card just acts as spare outputs.

    To give you an idea I am running an old system with one AGP video card and one PCI video card. I'm using the TH2GO on one output of the AGP and a single 17"LCD on the second, then a second 17"LCD on one output of the PCI video card. Works great with 3 views and I get 10-20FPS most of the time (with stutters unfortunately, but I can live with that). I would imagine with later model hardware I could achieve very smooth flight.

    I would recommend using the same type of video card i.e. both nvidia or both ATI, this just simplifies thing so you don't have to load and configure two video drivers. I know others have mixed nvidia and ATI successfully however. If you intend getting a Matrox TH2GO then you'll need to settle for an nvidia based card, as there are compatibility problems with ATI.

    Hope that helps,

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Just make a test with the follow setup:

    I use in the PCI - express slot one Nvidia 6600 GT and i get 2 views from here.

    And i use in the second PCI - express slot one nvidia 4800 to get the thirth view.

    I get 3 views and in full screen mode.
    But the frame rate is drop to 10-13 from 20 -22 that i have with one view.
    This Is logical i think.

    But i notice in the thirth view that i get from the smaller card (4800) the frames are more less than 9
    Why this? They need the same good card as is in the first PCI - express slot?

    Next week i try a powerfull 8800 GTS with a 6600 together and i see what will happen.
    I report here my test.

    Regards
    Lambis

  7. #7
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Interesting Lambis,

    Not sure what you mean by less frame rate on the smaller card? You only get one frame rate for the sim overall. I'm using a 6600 AGP with a 6200 PCI card. As I said, I don't think it matters what the smaller card is, all the work is done by the main card (I stand to be corrected on this technicality however).

    Yes your frame rates will drop dramatically the more windows you open. They will also suffer more when running in Full Screen mode. There was an explanation as to why this happens that I read somewhere, something to do with the way windows treats the views, but never-the-less, you get better frame rates when running in windowed mode. However it means having borders around each screen, which doesn't bother me, I'd rather the better framerate.

    Keep fiddling and you'll find the best option for your setup.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello again

    Finaly i have the 8800 cts and i have make the first test with the fsx.
    Also i use a second card 6200 to get the third view.

    The slider setting in the fsx is a litle down from the middle.

    With only one view i take 60-70 frames.
    With 2 views i take 25-30
    And with 3 view is the big disappointment ONLY 13-17 frames.

    I don`t know if a biger comptuter can help here.
    I have an athlon 64 at 3000 with 2 gig of ram.

    Also i don`t know if a TH2G card can help in frame rates.

    But i read the TH2G it can`t give us 135 dergree of view with zoom factor to 1.00.
    And this because as i understand from other posts the TH2G take the front view and distortion the 1 screen to 3 screens.
    To get 135 degree of view with the TH2G is to put the zoom factor to ,33 or ,35 BUT this makes all the objects far away and small.
    This is not NORMAL view and for this reason the NicD in other forum as i understand it will create 3 new views and place them above the big distortion screen that is unused becuase is not looking good.

    But these are 4 views and i don`t know if this reduce the frames.

    I don`t know if this problem solved with the TH2G and the 4th view or if someone he find a solution.

    I don`t have the TH2G and i can`t make any test with it.

    I hope you understand what i try to say becase is very difficult for me to explain it in English.

    Please your thoughts and ideas to find a solution and the best configuration for the visual issue with the 3 views.

    Best Regards
    Lambis
    Greece

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member Polmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    141
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have noticed the same thing;

    First of all, my set up;

    Asus P5B Deluxe
    E6600 Dual Core Duo
    NVidia 7950 Main ( main Card) 2 outputs,PCI Express 16x
    Nvidia 7600 ( secondary card) 2 outputs,PCI Express 4X mode

    With Only one card installed

    FSX ~30-40 fps
    FS2004 ~30-100fps


    With the second card *installed

    FSX 8 - 15 fps
    FS2004 20 - 30 fps

    For me this means if I wish to run multiple monitor outputs from 1 PC
    (like a Level D setup) I must pretty much stick with fs2004.

    Otherwise, I will have to go the networked route.


    In My opinion, FSX & fs2004 don't look that much different from > 4000ft, and fs2004 is absolutely clear ( the mountains look blurry from a distance in fsx).



    Polmer


    * From my experience, I loose frame rates as soon as I install the second card ( even though I don't use it to display a window).

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    When you add a video card, Windows adds extra overhead to control it. This is why you should use the same card, that way you are using the same drivers. It still adds some extra work but not as much.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FSX- How to add additional outside views?
    By Polmer in forum Video Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-14-2010, 09:05 AM
  2. Front Views
    By dmoblay in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 04:37 PM
  3. Shimmering on outside views
    By mounty in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2009, 07:46 PM
  4. Views
    By mounty in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-19-2009, 12:25 PM
  5. Views
    By Mac in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2009, 11:34 PM