Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member stefanloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    TripleHead2Go plus single monitor?

    Hi everybody,

    here is a question that I could not find a satisfiing answer so far:

    Is it possible to run a 3-monitor setup for FS 9 via TripleHead2Go and an additional single monitor (for normal desktop use) from one graphic card? In my case that would be an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro.

    Thanks in advance!
    Stefan Loss
    Cologne, Germany

    737-NG
    Engravity, Project Magenta Full Boeing Software

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I certainly hope so as that is what I am planning. I currently use TH2GO output from 1 output on my graphics card and then there is the other output that I was going to connect a single monitor to.
    The FAQ on the Matrox website states that they don't support 2 TH2GO's connected to a single pc (not saying it doesnt work though) but doesnt mention an additional single screen. On Avsim in the FSX forum (post no 400253) someone mentions that they are using the TH2GO with a single screen so fingers crossed, I think they must run in windowed mode.
    Cheers
    Mike

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Watch out as the ATI cards have a limitation on THTG that the NVidia ones dont. Make sure you read up on the supported resolutions for ATI based cards on the Matrox site. But you can still use the other port on your card with the THTG I understand. I only had 3 monitors, so I didnt test this.

    On my ATI card I could not get a decent resolution, in fact it was so low that FSX would not even start. NVidia based chips dont have the issue, so would have been fine. It is something to do with the ATI chip and desktop widths over X thousand pixels.


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    136
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am using Geforce 9500 GT PCIE with the Tripple2go for the stretched outside view with 3 additional pci adaptors for undocked panels-so total 6 monitors connected to single pc

    Hope thats answers your question

    Regards

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member stefanloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hmm,

    the Matrox Homepage states a resolution of 3840x10241 for the 2D-Windows desktop and 1920x480 for 3-D Fullscreen Applications for my system.

    Now I must admit that I donīt exactly know what this means. Is this the maximum resolution for the THG only or is this the maximum desktop size in total?
    Stefan Loss
    Cologne, Germany

    737-NG
    Engravity, Project Magenta Full Boeing Software

  6. #6
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Stefan,

    The TH2GO splits the view onto 3 screens with a max of 1280x1024 pixel resolution fooling windows into thinking that a single screen of 3840x1024 is attached. As this is the max res of the unit, if you have monitors with a greater resolution, it will simply stretch the view to fit, but you won't get a wider field of view. Make sense? If you use a resolution not supported by the unit, the view will simply be out of shape.

    It is primarily designed for 4:3 monitors but there is a separate software extender tool that will give you 3840x768 res option for widescreens. Have a look at my setup: http://www.kennair.com/visuals.html

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by stefanloss View Post
    Hmm,

    the Matrox Homepage states a resolution of 3840x10241 for the 2D-Windows desktop and 1920x480 for 3-D Fullscreen Applications for my system.

    Now I must admit that I donīt exactly know what this means. Is this the maximum resolution for the THG only or is this the maximum desktop size in total?
    Watch out for the small print: Please run the Matrox TripleHead2Go System Compatibility Tool to ensure that your GPU is capable of achieving this resolution. Some ATI FireGL and ATI Radeon (pre X1000 series) GPUs support a maximum resolution of 2400x600.

    Certainly my GPU would not drive my analogue THTG high enough for FSX to run. I will need to buy an NVidia based card one day and it will live in the cupboard until then. Suggest grabbing their compatibility tool and running it.

    http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gx.../tool/home.php

    They describe their 2D and 3D a little more further down the page:


    "2D Windows desktop" refers to the maximum resolution that Windows desktop can be set to for business use (ie. Email, MS-Office, etc).

    "3D fullscreen" refers to the maximum resolution that a fullscreen 3D video game can run.


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member stefanloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, I guess FS9 is a 3D-application, right? This means I will have to go for another graphics card sometimes later.
    Stefan Loss
    Cologne, Germany

    737-NG
    Engravity, Project Magenta Full Boeing Software

Similar Threads

  1. Multi Monitor Performance with Single PC (980X / NV470)
    By whitav8r in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 11:24 AM
  2. Full screen in fsx drops monitor in triplehead2go
    By Martin Cumming in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 08:10 PM
  3. TH2G and Single monitor
    By Lambis777 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-17-2009, 04:03 AM
  4. Multi monitor single CPU setup
    By harpatin in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-21-2008, 04:13 PM
  5. Triplehead2go + extra monitor = 4 views
    By GSalden in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 07:38 AM