Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Power on/off your pc remote (WakeOnLan)

    Hi! Since I have my sim pc's (6 of them) in a separat room in the basement I often find it abit complicated to go down and start the sim for simple tests etc.

    Many times I had both seen, heard about and have a fully understanding what WakeOnLan was all about. But for some reason I had'n bother to try using it. Until now.

    I found an app cold Powerstate and it's perfect for my needs. Now I can sit at my office pc, (still at home) start and work through VNC on all my computers that are hooked up on the lan (my kids has two aswell) and also shut them down.

    Great program. Here's a link: http://www.shirilla.com/index.php/powerstate-wol/

    If anyone finds this interesting, let me know if I can help.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Very interesting, always wondered about that.

    I like this, certainly would like to hear other remarks from people who use this.

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    403
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello there,

    do i need any special cable connector for motherboard kai pci ethernet adapter to use it?


    Regards

    Eddie

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    For what is is worth I wrote PowerState

    Glad you like it.

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the link. Absolutely interesting.

    At the moment I use VNC to intercept the network-computers but It would be much better to shut them all down with the "push of 1 button".

    I will try this when I get my network setup again in a few days

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Hill5Air View Post
    Glad you like it.
    Yes I like it very much. TNX for sharing it.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by oal331 View Post
    Hello there,

    do i need any special cable connector for motherboard kai pci ethernet adapter to use it?


    Regards

    Eddie
    Hi Eddie! Sorry for the very late reply.

    No you don't need any special equipment. Your motherboard needs to support wake on lan though. Usually it's a setting in the bios power setup.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    403
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks i will try it!!

    Eddie

Similar Threads

  1. Tablet PC for remote CDU
    By korki in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-01-2011, 08:07 PM
  2. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 03:21 PM
  3. peecee remote
    By flatlandpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 07:41 AM
  4. Goflight remote ?
    By BlackWidow in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 11:16 AM
  5. PM-Remote und Winsock.ocx
    By Peter Martin in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2006, 02:27 AM