Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Daveanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
    Posts
    137
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Captain & 1st officer headsets

    Hi guys, Dave here in England and very impressed with your site too.

    I have been reading the threads about cockpit sounds, especialy about only hearing ATC (FS ATC) through sets of headgear.

    Can anyone tel me the best way to do this?

    Is there an 'off the shelf' ATC programme that will let me plug in a pair of headsets, or, as usual no way to do this with FS

    Any help would be very much appreciated.

    Dave.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Dave,

    Welcome to the forum.

    FSX has the ability to split the ATC sounds onto a USB headset while the rest of the audio goes to the main sound card. Unfortunately, FS9 does not.

    One "trick" for FS9 is the Goflight ATC Module at about $145.00 USD. It uses an audio filter and an adjustable squelch circuit to take the ATC out of the audio stream and put it on a headset. Works fair....... not as nice as REALLY split channels. But better than nothing.

    If you are flying online, put the Teamspeak program on one of the OTHER computers in the pit from the main flightsim one, and put the headphones onto THAT machine. That way Teamspeak comes thru the headphones and the general sim sounds are elsewhere. You can do the same for the VATSIM software, I think.

    Other than that.... for FS9...... I don't think there is a way to do it.

    best,

    .......................john

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member Daveanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
    Posts
    137
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Many thansk for the very prompt reply, guess it must be daytime over there?

    I will try what you suggest.

    Once again many thanks

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile

    The way I do it in FS9 is to use Radar Contact, which I find very realistic, and set that up on a different computer to FS9. You can then use extra speakers with separate volume control fo First Officer or Captain or headsets.
    Cheers...............Brian W.

  5. #5
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing

    i was wondering this myself actually it's a shame atc and engine noise etc can't be split because i have a real good headset to use but you hear everything not just atc. i suppose i will just have to set the audio sound levels differently so the mix of atc and engine noise is as realistic as possible

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have wondered about VoxATC, and as I understand it, it will soon have the ability to run on a network, hence no more window on the main FS screen.

    I enjoyed the video posted here a while back showcasing that software. Now, if we can just get ATC that recognizes ALL of the AI and uses voice, then there's the trick.

    Thanks for the explanation of the GF ATC unit, I was wondering about that! I have to wonder if in the sim if it's worth it to have ATC coming thru the headset (wearing a headset at all in the sim) when it's not a must-have, but I guess for that all too common drive to have it the most realistic, it's nice to be able to do it. To me, it's more important to have ATC seperated from all the other sounds more than it being routed thru a headset. Regardless, I have had my interest picqued again by this and will consider it. From what I understand, the GF unit actually allows you to select the ATC options too.

    ***Does anyone know if this unit will work with Radar Contact? Also, I just wish that the default ATC window could be placed somewhere else on the network besides the main screen or a monitor connected to the main FS PC.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomlin View Post
    Also, I just wish that the default ATC window could be placed somewhere else on the network besides the main screen or a monitor connected to the main FS PC.
    Boy you can say THAT one again.

    I also wish that the selection choices (for keypresses) for the choices in the default ATC menu were FAR more consistent. I have a voice recognition program that can send any keypresses I want... but the keypress for something is different depending on when the item comes up.... there is no consistency. F1 can be one thing one time and another thing on another occasion.

    And yes, the Goflight ATC unit can send the normal default ATC choices.

    best,

    .....................john

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member Polmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    141
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    For fs2004 for online atc you can use vatsim along with squawk box.
    Squawk box lets you pick which sounds card you want to use.

    Same for Voxatc; both versions; they also allow you to pick which sound card will be used and this is set up through the text-to-voice section of the configuration.ou will of course need to sound cards .


    Vox is cannot be set up on another computer.


    Polmer

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member Daveanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
    Posts
    137
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Maybe I can help you chaps out with ATC windows and messages?

    I am not using PM for my simluator I am just using FS 2004 with as much as I can tag on to it.

    Mainly by splitting views from the main FS programe (737NG 800) and "undocking" them to other screens, for the FMC (cant afford one yet), I opened and "undocked" the view to another 14" flat panel monitor in the Centre console in front of the TQ.

    It works well, but unfortunately still have to use the mouse to programme it, however it left a space on the right hand side of the screen, which I opened the ATC window and "undocked " it to there, a quick 'save' flight and every time I open it up there it is.

    Now the tricky bit, using a little bit of hardware from http://www.opencockpits.com/ (USBKEYS card) and a programme from http://www.wideview.it/ (Key2Mouse), I have installed 9 push buttons on the side of the FMC panel and assigned numbers (1,2,3 etc.) to push buttons, so whenever an ATC command is sent to me I can reply with whatever number is requested to respond too.

    If you go to my URL, you can just see the buttons and display in the centre, please excuse the web site, only just started it up.

    DaveAnne

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Daveanne View Post
    If you go to my URL, you can just see the buttons and display in the centre, please excuse the web site, only just started it up.

    DaveAnne

    Hi, and thanks for your input. Where the URL listed at?
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pilot/CoPilot headsets
    By sananona in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 02:34 PM
  2. sound with headsets
    By coppermasonry in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-14-2010, 11:37 AM
  3. Using aviation headsets on a PC
    By abxnightpilot in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 08:12 PM
  4. First Officer Steering Tiller
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 02:11 AM
  5. buttons in front of the captain and First officer
    By pdpo in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-06-2006, 09:02 AM