Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW Missouri, USA
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Joystick hacking problems

    Greetings,

    I have a joystick for my rig that I have hacked and works for the most part. The problem that I am having is that when I hook everything up, I get multiple button presses. My wiring is not shorted and the PCB is properly wired. I test the buttons individualy without being hooked up to my harnesses, they work as advertised. Do I need to put some of those rectifing diodes in line with my switches?

    Many thanx, Christopher

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What did you do, change the lengths of the wires to them? If that is the case you may have changed the impudence of the switch causing the problem you are seeing.
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW Missouri, USA
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    2 of the buttons work fine. The others use 2 wires that are common. I am only using 1 of the common wires and the buttons that work off of that common wire. The PCB that I am hacking is MS sidewinder forcefeedback 2.

    Christopher

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Christopher,

    Not to be too simplistic here but are you using momentary contact buttons for your replacement buttons?

    best,

    ....................john

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are you using the same button types between the 2 that do work and the 2 that dont? Sounds (and electronics was looong time ago) like the switch is bouncing.

    We used to build de-bounce circuits for microelectronics back then. However I would have assumed this was part of the joystick controller already.


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW Missouri, USA
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am using momentary switches. I have the buttons I need working. I was just looking for a solution to get everything working together. I have 2 other controllers that have similar reactions, but I have just used what I could get to work. I don't think it would be a wire/switch impedence problem or a button bouncing. I thought that someone may have run into this problem and found a solution. I appreciate all the thoughts.

    Many thanx, Christopher

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Do you have the same number of wires from the controller to the buttons? Some of the joystick interface, especially the ones with hat switches, use a voltage difference to tell what switches are being depressed. So thats why I was wondering about the impedance..
    Bob Reed

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by craiso View Post
    2 of the buttons work fine. The others use 2 wires that are common. I am only using 1 of the common wires and the buttons that work off of that common wire. The PCB that I am hacking is MS sidewinder forcefeedback 2.

    Christopher
    YES You will need Diodes. Place the diodes on your wires with the black line towards the switch, and that should solve your issue. Use any diode you like. 1n4148 will work best, but that should solve your issue.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW Missouri, USA
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'll try the diodes. I have a few left over from my LPTswitch box.

    Christopher

  10. #10
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Also Christopher many joysticks don't like it if all pots aren't connected and the typical symptom is jittery axis and multiple button presses. Attach either a pot or a suitable dummy load resistor to any unused axis and it'll fix it. Yes I had the same problem.

    However you may have already tried this, or are using all axis, in which case Trevor's diodes will help. From memory though diodes only help if you are pressing many switches at once.

    Good luck.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 10-bit or 12-bit joystick controller
    By matta757 in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 12:51 PM
  2. Potential buyer: VNAV problems, A/P problems?
    By 737aqua in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-26-2008, 09:21 PM
  3. Hacking Monitors!
    By manhattan in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-08-2008, 02:14 AM
  4. Joystick search: no joy
    By Toly in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-09-2007, 05:47 PM
  5. Joystick, sort of.
    By Rodney in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2006, 01:48 AM