Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Experience with new PM SW updates

    Hi all,

    Yesterday I performed a quick testflight with the new software updates that are available through the PM website.
    It was a just short flight from EHGG (Groningen) to EHBK (Maastrich-Achen). Insertion of the arrival procedures (STAR) for EHBK was without problems. I had some issues on this leg before with the older releases.

    I know that it's too soon to be conclusive about the performance of the sw but it looked fine on this flight. I will do some more tests on longer flights this week or next week and post my experience here in the forum.

    Anybody else who has some experience already?

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member stefanloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I did two short flights today and did not face any problems so far. Everything seems to run smooth, most important the insertion of approaches does not cause a mess any more.

    Looks as if PM did a good job on this one.
    Stefan Loss
    Cologne, Germany

    737-NG
    Engravity, Project Magenta Full Boeing Software

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The builds.txt with the CDU (v392) only has info up to v391.. which says that we should use the latest test navdata. Is that the case, or is the navigraph navdata ok?
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member stefanloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I had no problems with older (April/May) Navigraph Navdata.
    Stefan Loss
    Cologne, Germany

    737-NG
    Engravity, Project Magenta Full Boeing Software

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by touwersl View Post
    Anybody else who has some experience already?
    I've been testing the new Boeing builds with FSX, and, with the cycle time in the MCP.INI set to 25 (down from its 50 msec default), the speed and altitude capturing is very much better with these builds.

    There is still the problem where the MCP commands a completely incorrect heading whilst changes are being made in the CDU, only rectifying this when EXEC is pressed. This happens even if the changes are completely irrelevant to lateral flight (eg cruise level) and even if they are cancelled. Strange. Is this only with FSX?

    I've not yet tested the Mach -> IAS changeover on descent, which was going wrong in FSX because the MCP was continuing to send the last used Mach value to FSX even after switching to IAS mode. This goes wrong in FSX, not in FS9, because FSX changes both IAS and Mach whenever either are changed, whereas FS9 only changed the other when the mode was changed. Currently I am using an unpublished FSUIPC4.INI parameter

    FiddleMachForPM=Yes

    which makes it check the PM MCP mode and if it is IAS it discards Mach changes. I'll try today with that option disabled to see if PM is now fixed.

    All in all a good improvement for FSX, though.

    Regards

    Pete

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamburg / Germany
    Posts
    182
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi folks,
    I tested the new released versions on a short flight EDDH-EGLL. The only differences between the released file and the beta was the kbytes on the CDU file.
    During testing I found out that the STAR and "Direct to" problems are fixed.
    I only get a mess in my LEG Page, when selecting the opposite runway in flight. This is still a bothersome bug!
    The feature "displaying the missed approach procedure" has gone. Maybe that was the reason of the problems with the STAR´s!

    I even found a bug of displaying the descent point on the ND. When you are on that leg where the point is, and you change the route, the point is disappeared. But on the DES Page you can read the miles to the descentpoint.

    But anyway I am really happy to hear some news from PM.
    It gives me hope that Enrico continue as prommised.

    Thanks
    Jan

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member carlos hermida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    89
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Today i tested with a short flight of 1 hour the new updates from PM software using the latest navdata from NAVIGRAPH and it all worked normally for me.... great progress !!! Thanks Enrico !
    Cockpit NG Simulation
    Facebook Page:
    https://www.facebook.com/cockpitngsimulation/

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member ktroemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Angry Same as b4.......

    Hi to everyone.....

    I did 3 testflights yesterday, one longer and 2 short one but i found that on the CRZ page when u enter a new FL or even change the target speed the aircraft still changes into a different heading..........

    And, i have entered a new speed (.80) but the plane didnt change the speed...more it was still rising untill it run into overspeed....

    Even when i changed the speed to (.67) no changes at all......

    Well..........so far.....


    Klaus
    B737-700NG Fixed Base Simulator

    Location: LOWW

    - www.projectboeing.com -

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member carlos hermida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    89
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Klaus, here are my notes testing your issues....

    Changing FL for me worked without any problem, going UP and DOWN FLs normally all inserted after Cruize FL...and no HDG problems for me.

    About speed changes, yes and it didn't work for me too like your report ...no matter i insert .80, .82 up speed or down.....so i think this is a new confirmed ISSUE with this new update.

    So let's see if it happens with all using the new updates....


    Best,
    Cockpit NG Simulation
    Facebook Page:
    https://www.facebook.com/cockpitngsimulation/

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by carlos hermida View Post
    Changing FL for me worked without any problem, going UP and DOWN FLs normally all inserted after Cruize FL...and no HDG problems for me.
    The problem is when changing the Cruise flight level on the Climb, Cruise or Descent pages. Once you enter a change, before you EXEC it, the MCP commands are wildly incorrect heading -- anything from 110 to 180 degrees wrong. As soon as you press the EXEC it corrects itself. You might never notice if you do the change quickly enough, or head down on the CDU screen only.

    This occurs as soon as you enter anything -- it need not even be a change.

    Regards

    Pete

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Those with autocad experience...
    By Crescent in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2010, 01:47 AM
  2. Any experience using the FSC 737 Throttle
    By salvapatuel in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-25-2009, 06:13 AM
  3. Any experience of X-plane
    By wollo in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 06:33 AM
  4. Any experience with aerodeckengineering.com?
    By Salud in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2007, 09:12 AM