PDA

View Full Version : Now arriving...

Yankee737
07-04-2007, 03:52 PM
Hey everyone, new member here. I'm sure I'm no different from the rest of you...way back in the early days of FS, I always felt there was just something missing, something more that belonged in the world of simulation.

FS98 and a cheapo yoke brought me a step closer. Then I graduated to 2K2Pro and just never gave an actual cockpit sim a second thought.

As my simulation experience evolved, I explored the various sub-hobbies: design, repainting, VA's, you name it. When I stumbled upon my first introduction to a cockpit...whoa. Sign me up!

Since then I've alwayos thought, "Yeah that would be neat, but I'll probably never do it." That is, of course, until last year when the purchase of a new house with a LOT of space made the possibility a lot more real.

So I've spent the past three months or so really reading up on things, figuring out what it is I want to create, etc. And here I am!

I plan to build an "as real as possible" 737 cockpit. Why the 737? Well, in addition to just loving the plane, I figure it's the most common commercial airliner in the sky! Not only will research data be relatively abundant, but it is the least likely to become antiquated in the years to come.

I'm in the very early "mock-up" stages. Last night I cut some rough MIP and console panels out of some scrap wood I had lying around, just to "size out" the space I'll be occupying. (How exciting! lol)

Anyway, I'm looking forward to interacting with you all, and can't wait to get started!

Westozy
07-04-2007, 06:31 PM
Hi and welcome to MyCockpit.org, I was in the same situation 3 years ago and now I'm nearly finished. 737 is a good choice for ease of getting off the shelf parts etc, go for it, you will get there!

Gwyn

Matt Olieman
07-04-2007, 09:27 PM
Welcome aboard..... you're like the rest of us...

We love sim-ming to the extreme!!!!

Michael Carter
07-04-2007, 09:50 PM
Welcome to the forum Yankee.