PDA

View Full Version : B744 engine



dicksonlee
06-06-2007, 11:35 PM
i am building a home flight simulator...using MSFS2004..i need to do on PW4056, however, the B747-400 engine in the MSFS2004 uses the PW4062 engine...
can anyone enlighten me what the difference between engine PW4062 & PW4056 is?

Trevor Hale
06-07-2007, 08:42 AM
i am building a home flight simulator...using MSFS2004..i need to do on PW4056, however, the B747-400 engine in the MSFS2004 uses the PW4062 engine...
can anyone enlighten me what the difference between engine PW4062 & PW4056 is?

Honestly the only difference is the text in the aircraft config file. Edit the .cfg and change the text to say the one you want. Flightsim has no preference if your using GE engines or Pratt & Whitney. You can edit the (Static Thrust) in the .cfg file to match that of the PW4056.

Unless I misunderstood your question.

Michael Carter
06-07-2007, 10:26 AM
And outside of FS...

The PW4056 47,970 lbs of thrust flat-rated for the B747. The flat-rating is higher when installed on the B767

The PW4062A has the same rating as the PW4056, however, for TO rated thrust for five minutes it is 62,000Lbs vs. 56,750 for the PW4056.

The PW4062 is rated at 50,250/62,000 Lbs

Maximum rotor speeds are higher for the PW4062 and PW4062A, but maximum operating temperatures are the same for both.

The certification dates for each engine is 1983 and 1989 respectively.

Westozy
06-07-2007, 11:52 AM
Or there abouts!

dicksonlee
06-07-2007, 11:10 PM
Quote: Honestly the only difference is the text in the aircraft config file. Edit the .cfg and change the text to say the one you want. Flightsim has no preference if your using GE engines or Pratt & Whitney. You can edit the (Static Thrust) in the .cfg file to match that of the PW4056.
Unless I misunderstood your question.


You mean all the PW engine is the same in MSFS regardless of the real specs of the engines? So I only need to change the static thrust in the flight sim config file, or is there any other important parameters that i need to change? I am really unfamiliar with the engine. Thank you.


<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

dicksonlee
06-07-2007, 11:16 PM
And outside of FS...

The PW4056 47,970 lbs of thrust flat-rated for the B747. The flat-rating is higher when installed on the B767

The PW4062A has the same rating as the PW4056, however, for TO rated thrust for five minutes it is 62,000Lbs vs. 56,750 for the PW4056.

The PW4062 is rated at 50,250/62,000 Lbs

Maximum rotor speeds are higher for the PW4062 and PW4062A, but maximum operating temperatures are the same for both.

The certification dates for each engine is 1983 and 1989 respectively.

Hi, thanks for your respond. So the information that you gave me above is only for real engine in the real aircraft? Does it mean it has no effect for flight sim?

Trevor Hale
06-08-2007, 09:04 AM
Quote: Honestly the only difference is the text in the aircraft config file. Edit the .cfg and change the text to say the one you want. Flightsim has no preference if your using GE engines or Pratt & Whitney. You can edit the (Static Thrust) in the .cfg file to match that of the PW4056.
Unless I misunderstood your question.


You mean all the PW engine is the same in MSFS regardless of the real specs of the engines? So I only need to change the static thrust in the flight sim config file, or is there any other important parameters that i need to change? I am really unfamiliar with the engine. Thank you.


<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

For now. (Make a backup of your aircraft.cfg file) Read what it says (existing) in the static thrust. Chances are it will not be even close to what the real engine has. I would think If you are wanting to add the larger engine increase this by increments of 500 until you get the results you desire. If you want the smaller engine, decrease it by increments of 500 until you get what you desire.

Trev

Michael Carter
06-08-2007, 12:16 PM
Hi, thanks for your respond. So the information that you gave me above is only for real engine in the real aircraft? Does it mean it has no effect for flight sim?


I couldn't say. My bird uses JT-8D-15's.