PDA

View Full Version : Where can i buy dual rotary encoders in Europe?



flytui
06-01-2007, 06:12 AM
Hello all,

Any adress to advise.I know there are some sellers in the USA but i am afraid by the shipment cost.

Olivier Sinnaeve.Brussels,Belgium

zenandzen
07-23-2007, 02:06 PM
Hi,
i just had a look here & saw these encoders & i think they are closer to you than USA.
Good luck
Gerry


http://www.opencockpits.com/modules.php?name=Content2&pa=showpage&pid=35

PeterH
07-23-2007, 03:42 PM
Hi Olivier,

look for Knitter switches. These types (MRP 1-20 series) are operating with no phase shift. You may consider them as 2 independant momentary switches whereby the one delivers pulses when turned clockwise and the other when turned counterclockwise.
So any keyboard encoder would work together with them no additional circuitry needed to define turning direction. The direction of turning is made mechanically inside the rotary.

Here the Knitter reps:

AVNET TIME
Eagle Building/Kouterveldstraat 20
B-1831 Diegem
phone: +32-(0)2/7099002
fax: +32-(0)2/7099801
e-mail: TimeBe@avnet.com

SPOERLE BELGIEN
Keiberg 11
Minervastraat 14/B2
B-1930 Zaventem
phone: +32-(0)2/72546-60
fax: +32-(0)2/72545-11
e-mail: SalesOffice.Brussels@spoerle.com


Hope this helps

Best rgds

Peter

Majorfibbs
10-23-2007, 10:30 AM
Hello

Depending on your interface card, you can not use Knitter. This is the case for IO-Cards, I tried but they were too inaccurate and not useful. You can use Knitter on FSUBS, there I tried too. Works OK, although the Knitter are very flimsy and not stable.

I have my dual rotary encoder from a guy in spain. He made them himself out of 2 standard BOURNS encoder ECW1J-B24-BC0006. They work flwaless together with IO-Cards. I have to dig out the e-mail adress, I found this solution in a AVSIM forum thread. The costs were around 15 Euro per dual-encoder.
Alternative sources:
- BOURNS (directly)
- www.digikey.com (http://www.digikey.com)


Picture :
http://www.tino.net/flightsim/homecockpit/fotos/dual-encoder_01.jpg

Majorfibbs
10-23-2007, 10:36 AM
Hello

Another source is ALPS, they sell also dual rotary encoder.
To connect them to IO-Cards, you need to have an additional interface card called "IOCard Encoders II" . This because ALPS has a different encoding principle than IO-Card can understand directly.

Manufacturer : ALPS
Source : www.simparts.de (http://www.simparts.de/)
alternative: any electronics parts-supplier (Conrad?)

@flytui
What flightsimulator interface do you use?

flytui
10-26-2007, 04:20 AM
Thanks a lot for those info.

Olivier

SNuts
03-03-2009, 04:39 AM
Hello

Depending on your interface card, you can not use Knitter. This is the case for IO-Cards, I tried but they were too inaccurate and not useful. You can use Knitter on FSUBS, there I tried too. Works OK, although the Knitter are very flimsy and not stable.

I have my dual rotary encoder from a guy in spain. He made them himself out of 2 standard BOURNS encoder ECW1J-B24-BC0006. They work flwaless together with IO-Cards. I have to dig out the e-mail adress, I found this solution in a AVSIM forum thread. The costs were around 15 Euro per dual-encoder.
Alternative sources:
- BOURNS (directly)
- www.digikey.com (http://www.digikey.com)


Picture :
http://www.tino.net/flightsim/homecockpit/fotos/dual-encoder_01.jpg

I am very interested in these dual encoders from Spain. Do you have any contact or more information for me?
thx

airbus319
03-03-2009, 06:51 AM
I ordered mine from cockpitsonic usa and asked for the cheapest shipping available, in the end it cost me $34 total, 2 x $12 for the encoders with knobs and $10 shipping.

A big reduction on the cockpitsonic.de price of over 60 euros.

David.

Buddym
03-03-2009, 09:26 AM
But do the cockpitsonic encoder work directly with the IOcards MC or do you have to connect them to an encoder card?

gio62
03-03-2009, 10:40 AM
Hi,
it looks here also http://www.elomfly.com

Majorfibbs
03-03-2009, 04:00 PM
Hi,
it looks here also http://www.elomfly.com


This company above sells rotary switches, and this technically not the same as a rotary-encoder.

So far for that topic.

Although more than 3 years ago, I try to contact this guy from spain because I do not want to publish any e-mail address here. Not because of the forum, but because of SPAM.

Majorfibbs
03-03-2009, 04:12 PM
I ordered mine from cockpitsonic usa and asked for the cheapest shipping available, in the end it cost me $34 total, 2 x $12 for the encoders with knobs and $10 shipping.

A big reduction on the cockpitsonic.de price of over 60 euros.

David.

Hello

Can you provide a direkt link to the cockpitsonic homepage and the part you are mentioning? I could not find them on the page.

Without having seen them I anticipate that these are encoders from the brand ALPS and they are technically different that the BOURNS encoders I mentioned. ALPS does NOT work DIRECTLY on IOCards, you have to use an additional encoders card.

BTW the www.opencockpits.com (http://www.opencockpits.com) shop sells single encoders (CTS ...) . Unfortunately no coaxial.
www.opencockpits.com/catalog/encoder-p-100.html (http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/encoder-p-100.html)