PDA

View Full Version : Removes hat before entering bar...

jmig
04-22-2007, 06:41 PM
Hi everyone! Just wandered in from another site. Glad I found this place. I have been building a T-38C cockpit for a couple years around several remodeling projects, thrown in by my wife.

So far, I have build 75-80% of the actual cockpit, T-38 style floor mounted control stick, and rudder pedals. I also built a fighter cockpit gear handle mechanism that looks like the one in the T-38.

I am using two LCD for the instruments. A 14" is mostly hidden by an aluminum panel with only a 6" X 4" section showing for the electronic engine gauges. A 12" LCD turned vertical sits between the pilot legs and is the primary gauges.

I had planed on using Leo’s Beta Innovations boards. However, he has gotten out of supporting MSFS. I still plan on using his Plasma board that I purchased. I am now consideration Open Cockpits’ boards but, haven’t purchased them yet.

Lately, I have been making the plastic faces for the gauges and mounting them on to the aluminum panels.

I have a background in aviation. I flew in the air Force for about 10 years then flew GA aircraft for business. I currently am the senior partner in an energy industry related company that designs, sells and services environmental systems for handling gaseous emissions in the industry.

I have also been an active poster on AVSIM for a number or years.

John

Bob Reed
04-22-2007, 06:55 PM
Hi John and welcome! We are all just nuts here and by the sounds of it you will fit right in! Would love to see some pics of your pit! Glad I stopped by been installing the center council all afternoon. Now to decide how to get the CDU to work until the middle of next week when I have the forward avionics bay done. Glad to have you here!

BlackWidow
04-22-2007, 08:15 PM
Welcome John, The T38 is a nice choice are you by chance using a real cockpit. Anyway would love to see some pics.

Westozy
04-22-2007, 08:26 PM