PDA

View Full Version : Howdy from Altus

nrasch0402
02-06-2007, 04:43 PM
"Howdy" - the traditional Oklahoma greeting...

I have sort of been lurking around these forums for a few weeks. I think its high time I actually posted something.

I am an aspiring 737NG builder but am constrained by the fact I am active duty - Air Force and as of this monment, live on base. However, I have come to realize through all of your posts that i can "baby step" my way to a fully enclosed sim all the while having fun and continuing to fly.

I started my Air Force career in F-16 avionics and have been an avionics "geek" (an affectionate nickname, coined by one of my buddies) ever since

That said, I think my first purchase will be the FDS-NAV-B1 module, as it is plug and play...anyone have expierence with it they care to share?

Just out of curiosity, are there any US-based (preferably in the Texas-Oklahoma-Kansas-New Mexico-Arkansas or Atlanta area...) 737-NG simbuilders out there that would entertain a tour/mentoring session?

Trevor Hale
02-06-2007, 04:51 PM
Welcome to the Neighborhood

I am sure it will be quite a challange for you building a project on base. I think we all know what you mean when you mention Baby-Steps.
Most of us start out that way :) Good luck, and enjoy your stay here.

Best regards,

Trev

Bob Reed
02-06-2007, 05:04 PM
And another one bites the dust.... good to have you on board. I think the unit you are talking about is USB plug and play and I am sure it works fine. Baby steps is a very good approach! And keep it Small and portable while you are very mobile. There is a lot you can do to "build" your pit now. Like you are doing look at what you want, lots of research (and you might be in a relay good spot for that!) build a temp system with things like your radios in it, something small that sits on the desk or right beside you on the floor. And Keep knocking I think there are a few builders around you.

nrasch0402
02-06-2007, 09:11 PM