PDA

View Full Version : Re: PFD Delay



null null
12-30-2004, 12:28 PM
Video drivers are the latest nvidia and the Nic isn't sharing anything with
the video (Nic is PCI - video is AGP)

I think I have an idea on the problem and that it is on the client. I want
to try and install the glass cockpit on another PC (my wife's to test), but
alas, the PM Glass Cockpit wont run because my purchased key was for the
other client.

Bleh!

Thanks

Jason

Peter Dowson
12-30-2004, 01:19 PM
On 12/30/2004 12:28:05 PM, Jason Bennett wrote:
>... the Nic isn't
>sharing anything with the
>video (Nic is PCI - video is
>AGP)

That means nothing. The only difference between AGP and PCI is the possible
data bus routing. The AGP slot normally uses the same IRQ as the next (PCI)
slot down, but it may vary with mobo. Check the IRQ list in the Windows
resources (Device Manager).

>I think I have an idea on the
>problem and that it is on the
>client.

But why would a second window on the Server affect the Client?

Pete

Thomas Richter
12-30-2004, 01:51 PM
Hi Jason,
do you use the same solution on Monitor A + B.
In my case I the problem was gone when I change the solution of monitors on

all PC`s to the same (1280*1024).
Now all is running best, only QuickMap will going to delay when traffic is
enabled on QuickMap:
I use FS2004 and Boeing-GC and pmSystem on 6 PC`s.

--
Best Regards
Thomas - EW321

"Jason Bennett" schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:280010.55559@wb.onvix.com...
> Video drivers are the latest nvidia and the Nic isn't sharing anything
> with
> the video (Nic is PCI - video is AGP)
>
> I think I have an idea on the problem and that it is on the client. I
> want
> to try and install the glass cockpit on another PC (my wife's to test),
> but
> alas, the PM Glass Cockpit wont run because my purchased key was for the
> other client.
>
> Bleh!
>
> Thanks
>
> Jason
>

null null
12-30-2004, 01:54 PM
Ya, I tried that as well. In various resolutions - I think I know what the
problem is and that is with the client PC I'm using. I have another test
one I can use, just waiting on a key from PM people.

Thanks!

01110000011101010111010001100101
Jason Bennett
My Newbie 737 NG Sim Site

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who can read binary, and
those that can't.
01100111011001010110010101101011

null null
12-30-2004, 02:00 PM
There's nothing in the next slot to the AGP - that would be silly :) (and
sometimes impossible due to the closeness but there is the odd board)

As soon as the PM people hook me up with a key, I'll let you know how it
goes. By the way, you don't know if there are any ports to linux for some of
these apps do you?



01110000011101010111010001100101
Jason Bennett
My Newbie 737 NG Sim Site

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who can read binary, and
those that can't.
01100111011001010110010101101011

Peter Dowson
12-30-2004, 03:28 PM
On 12/30/2004 2:00:13 PM, Jason Bennett wrote:
>There's nothing in the next
>slot to the AGP - that would
>be silly :)

Nevertheless it is so easy to check that you are not sharing IRQs, and very
worthwhile to do so. I don't understand why you refuse to do so. I once had
enormous Network problems on one of my PCs with this -- and, no, the NIC
was not in the PCI slot next to the AGP.

>By the way,
>you don't know if there are
>any ports to linux for some of
>these apps do you?

What apps? I don't know of anything at all that runs on Linux. Sorry.

Pete

null null
12-30-2004, 05:18 PM
Problem solved :) It was a bad piece of client hardware - my wife's PC works
flawlessly as I would have expected. Looks like the old IBM junk is
getting reused elsewhere :)

As for the apps, since I'm referring to you, I'd assume yours :) (the one you
sold me - unless you dont actually sell it and someone else is selling it
lol). Its no problem though, was just hoping there might be a linux port
around for it - it would be a good starting place.

Also, during my testing, I noticed while switching back and forth between
TCP and IPX, if I forgot to add the ServerName entry in the ini file, your
software gives a little error message about it missing from the ini file.
When you click ok, the client doesn't abort but keeps popping the error back
up - minor, but annoying lol.

Oh well.. Thanks for the input all.

Cheers