PDA

View Full Version : Cessna 172 (ish) FSX Simulator

CathayA340
08-19-2014, 11:04 PM
Hello.

I am a 14 year old that enjoys flight simulation. I mainly fly the PMDG 737NGX for AAVirtual.net.
Today, I went to the local airport to take a tour and got a 1 hour gift certificate for later use on an "introductory flight lesson" in the Cessna 172.
I know that I have to start with a Cessna to get up to my goal of being an airline pilot on the 737, so it is time to start now.
I run FSX on one computer, an i5-4670K overclocked to 3.8GHZ with an MSI GTX750ti 2GB video card and can handle the NGX's VC at 30fps.
The default Cessna in FSX stinks, so what is the best payware C172 I should get for FSX?

I also want to start practicing flying the C172 as I have little experience with it (I know how to fly airliners more). I would like to build a cockpit, it doesn't have to exactly resemble the 172, but something similar so I can get the feel for it when I start flight/ground school. I am on a very low budget of around 200-300 dollars as I just spent $900 building the computer for FSX. After this year, my budget will rise to around $800 for the cockpit.
I am not too good with electronic stuff so plug and play modules would be ideal. I am also looking for some measurements for the cockpit, and some suggestions of materials to use. By cockpit, I just mean a panel, and not an actual "cockpit" if you know what I mean...I already have a 32" monitor for the scenery display and 2 20" monitors (I used those monitors as my instruments for the NGX).
Any tips would be appreciated as to where to start and how to build.

Thank you :)

Westozy
08-19-2014, 11:33 PM
A2A C172 is outstanding!! I suggest you start there, good luck with your projects!
Cheers Gwyn

CathayA340
08-20-2014, 09:31 AM
A2A C172 is outstanding!! I suggest you start there, good luck with your projects!
Cheers Gwyn
Thanks for the suggestion! I will be purchasing that shortly. Are there any checklists that go along with it?