PDA

View Full Version : Using two Arduino Mega boards



John UK
12-05-2012, 06:21 AM
I want to use two Mega boards, one each to control two panels. I understand that I can use two ports, one for each panel, but how do I manage this on the Link2FS software? Should I run two instances of Link2FS or is there another way?

The reason I am wanting to do this is that I don't have enough connections on a single board.

Has anyone used a MUX shield and will this device work with Link2FS?

zulucat
12-05-2012, 01:26 PM
I want to use two Mega boards, one each to control two panels. I understand that I can use two ports, one for each panel, but how do I manage this on the Link2FS software? Should I run two instances of Link2FS or is there another way?
You could connect one Mega to the PC (and Link2FS). It could run the 1st panel. Data/commands could be sent from the 1st Mega to the 2nd Mega via one of the other serial ports (SERAL1, SERIAL2 or SERIAL3) to control the other panel.


Has anyone used a MUX shield and will this device work with Link2FS?
How many pins do you need to control? What is the maximum amount of current you need to sink or source for any given pin?

Jim NZ
12-05-2012, 05:11 PM
Yes you can run multiple instances of Link2fs_inout but they need to be in separate folders because the name of the "ini" file would be the same.

If you haven't bought the MUX card then it might pay to hold off for now as depending on what you are doing it could just load up the serial stream too much.

On a different leg ,,, I haven't been programming in VB6 for sometime now but when I revisited the "inOut" program to add the latest extractions I was horrified with it's general windows system ,,, so what I've done is made it into one file (not an install) and it is "portable" so it can even run from a pendrive. (It doesn't mess with your registry or anything)

Just last night I was running 4 copies if "inOut" all from a pendrive on Win 7 64 (also tested on Win XP 32 bit) and there seems to be no detrimental effect at all ,, all ran beautifully ,, doing it this way spreads the serial traffic load.
Basically it makes it dead simple to run multiple cards.

At the moment Link2fs_inOut_v3 is "in test" with the Guys and all seems well so shortly I will change the whole package and make it a single exe and call it Link2fs_inOut_v4. Keep your eye's open but there's still heaps of other test's I need to do yet and I'm not getting much time at it.

Cheers ,,, Jim

LeeGlen
12-05-2012, 08:12 PM
Wheww Jim, next thing you know we'll be calling you Pete JR. :D

Jim NZ
12-06-2012, 04:20 AM
Lol !!! John.

I actually had a boo boo there ,,, the current new version is V3 !! so when this is released it will be version 4.
I edited the above post to stop any confusion.
Old age ,,,, it's fun !! :) :)
Jim

John UK
12-06-2012, 07:05 AM
Thanks for the speedy reply Jim,



..... shortly I will change the whole package and make it a single exe and call it Link2fs_inOut_v4.


That sounds like great news! I follow your main site for updates and can't wait for v4.

Looking at the cost of a MUX card, the Mega board can be bought for less mail order in the UK. So I will wait for v4 and run two cards.

I would also like to say a big thanks for all your efforts, I think what you have done with your software is just fantastic. More thanks are also needed for getting me into the Adruino cards, I have other non-FS ideas that I want to experiment with, you have opened up a complete new hobby for me, and I am loving it!

John.

Jim NZ
12-08-2012, 02:49 AM
Your hooked John. :) :)
Sad ,,, sad ,,, and he was a good guy.
LOL ,,, Jim

John UK
12-08-2012, 08:08 AM
Your hooked John. :) :)
Sad ,,, sad ,,, and he was a good guy.
LOL ,,, Jim

Arduino junkie.... with a pusher on the other side of the world,,,,, ;):D:D

And now for a serious question. I want to control a 12v or 24v supply proportionally from an Ardiuno board. I have successfully used other voltages digitally through a relay but these are just on/off. What I want to try is controlling real aircraft electronic gauges from Link2FS. I thought I would start with a fuel gauge and have seen one that runs off 12v and is controlled by a float connected by an arm to a potentiometer. It seems to me if I could synchronize a 5v potentiometer with a 12v one on a separate circuit to suit the gauge then I could control the gauge with Link2FS.

Can this be done? and if so how?

John.