PDA

View Full Version : 737 AT, TOGA and fuel switches in PM



NicD
01-05-2007, 06:19 AM
I'm after a bit of help here ... just got my throttle quadrant and we've got the outputs from it wired up to an OpenCockpits Axes card. Throttles, spoiler and flaps all working well, but we can't seem to get the switches to work properly. We've tried various button assignments in FS9 and FSUIPC with no luck.

So I was wondering if anyone knew the best method of getting Autothrottle-disconnect switch, TOGA switch, and fuel-cuttoffs to work. I'm using FSUIPC (full) and PM systems with the PMDG737 airfile.

cheers

Bob Reed
01-05-2007, 11:46 AM
Hey NicD. Can you see in FSUIC when you press or toggle any of the buttons? If so you can assigne them there. Waiting for your reply.

NicD
01-05-2007, 06:02 PM
Hi Bob. Yes the buttons bring up a joy# and button# number in the FSUIPC interface. I've tried asigning FS9 and PM actions there (using FS control on the right) but the aircraft does not respond.

Interestingly, the TOGA and AT-disconnect switches seem to be momentary - FSUIPC only shows them when they are held down.

AndyT
01-05-2007, 08:30 PM
Both of those should only be 'momentary' type switches from a software point of view. Do you have them dual-assigned? Are they assigned in FS9 AND FSUIPC? Remove any assignments from FS9 for those.

PeterH
02-01-2007, 02:59 AM
Hi Nic,

just another thought on this: make sure you assign 2 values for your switches:
one for pressing the key (down value)
one for key release (up value)

Otherwise it might be that FSUIPC tstinks that the key has not been released and this could lead to strange results.


So far my 2 pennies worth


Best rgds

Peter

Peter Dowson
02-01-2007, 06:29 AM
Interestingly, the TOGA and AT-disconnect switches seem to be momentary - FSUIPC only shows them when they are held down.

The FSUIPC button options screen shows the most recent button which changed from an "Off" to an "On" state. It doesn't respond to the "On" to "Off" transition because that would be most annoying when trying to program a large number of transient buttons, as most joystick-type buttons are.

However, in operation, it detects and, if programmed, operates on both transitions. You have evidently not noticed some things on the screen and documented for you.

Please take another look at the options screen, or the pictures in the User documentation and you will see that you can assign actions to the "Press" (off to on) or the Release (on to off) or both, or, of course, neither.

In other words you can do whatever you like!

Regards

Pete

NicD
02-01-2007, 04:49 PM
Thanks Peter, and everyone, for the information. I'll do some more work on it and report back.