PDA

View Full Version : PsOne screen - so easy and cheap, everybody should use it



mrmaster
04-10-2012, 01:35 PM
Hi,

it took me exactly 37 minutes to figure out how to control the PSOne screen with a s-video plug on an old laptop. I read some very bad comments about it beforehand and I can't understand what is so bad about this display, anybody who is planning to get one - do it! I can recommend it!

40$ + 0,50 for 5 wires ;P

http://x737cockpit.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/img_0640.jpg
http://x737cockpit.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/img_0641.jpg
http://x737cockpit.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/img_0643.jpg

Marc

Geremy Britton
04-10-2012, 04:57 PM
We have some Real Aircraft FMC's which would work well with these.

flyinjake
04-10-2012, 11:08 PM
Please more information on how its done.

Mike.Powell
04-11-2012, 12:26 AM
http://www.retroleum.co.uk/electronics-articles/psone-lcd-info/

Similar (but different) http://www.casemodgod.com/ModGuides/GameCubeLCD/gamecubeLCD.htm

I thought I had another bookmarked, but can't find the link. I know that a few years back there were several "how-to" articles. They could likely be found with a bit of searching.

blueskydriver
04-11-2012, 02:59 AM
Here you go:

http://www.bit-tech.net/modding/2004/07/07/psone_lcd/1

Same process, just different mounting location; in the above link they're placing it in a computer case.

BSD

mrmaster
04-11-2012, 12:00 PM
There will be a video on youtube in a couple of minutes - still uploading.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGyiPPauPho

Hope you get it...

Marc

birdyguy
04-11-2012, 03:16 PM
looks great. How difficult would it be to incorporate line select keys and keypad to this screen?

fordgt40
04-11-2012, 03:24 PM
Birdyguy

The opencockpits kit uses a psone screen with its keypad etc. See this link to see how it is done

http://www.737ng.co.uk/djb/opencockpits_fmc.pdf

Mrmaster

Thanks for the video, in it you mention that it is easy to extend the distance of the screen from the pcb by using a different flat ribbon. I have been trying for months to get a longer flat ribbon connector - where do you get them from?

All

I have a .pdf file showing exactly how to take apart a psone and do this conversion. It was originally on the FDS website, but now appears to have been removed. If you want a copy then PM me with your email address and I will send it

David

mrmaster
04-11-2012, 04:26 PM
Hi David,

I once found an article about it think it was a spanish website - I'll see if I can find it...

Marc

fordgt40
04-11-2012, 05:07 PM
Marc

Thanks, it would be great if you could find it. I have 2 psones to use for the chronometer displays, but the pcb is too big to fit into the space in the MIP

David

mrmaster
04-11-2012, 05:14 PM
here it is: http://www.hispapanels.com/cabina737/paneles/pedestal/fmc/fmci.html you could probably email the guy and ask him

marc

birdyguy
04-11-2012, 05:32 PM
Hi David

Thanks very much for the link and the information. Very helpful. It really looks like the way to go. Mouser electronics may have those ribbon cables.

fordgt40
04-11-2012, 06:10 PM
Marc

Many thanks for taking the time to find that. I could see the manufacturers name on the cable - Axon, so I can now follow it up. The tutorial was excellent, worth a look Birdyguy :)

David

birdyguy
04-11-2012, 07:20 PM
Hi David,

Definitely worth looking at, I agree. Going to do a lot of research on this one. Do you happen to know if all the Sony PSone models shipped with LCD screens?

Quartermaster340
04-11-2012, 07:31 PM
I know most of you are using it for FMCs and the likes, but how possible is it to use the screen as an additional display, and if so would it be VGA/DVI or even USB ???

Thanks,

James.

Bernie
04-11-2012, 07:34 PM
Perhaps we need to keep a lid on this or the price of Psone's is going to go through the roof on Ebay. LOL:D

Kind Regards

Bernie.

fordgt40
04-12-2012, 05:18 AM
It is easy to use the screen as an additional display, that is how we use them for the FMC. However, you need a graphics card with a composite video output, or an S-video output to which you need to connect an s-video to composite adapter - easily bought on Ebay

Some people has successfully converted the psone to display to VGA, but this is not for the faint hearted and has had mixed results. Try a search on Google.

David

fordgt40
04-12-2012, 05:49 AM
Hi David,

Definitely worth looking at, I agree. Going to do a lot of research on this one. Do you happen to know if all the Sony PSone models shipped with LCD screens?

Sorry, but I only discovered the Psone when I was looking for a FMC screen! I believe that there was another after market screen that was square, however, I understand that the genuine Psones were round. Perhaps other younger members can advise :)

mrmaster
04-12-2012, 10:38 AM
great to see that so many like this ;D

the screen itself can be bought separately, search for "PSOne screen". the used ones are about 30-40$ it's perfect!

the idea itself is old and I read about it on a couple of forums, however i didn't think it would be soooo easy, let me know if you have any question

Marc