PDA

View Full Version : PMDG 737 and Throttle Tek 737 TQ



perryfincher
10-24-2011, 05:21 PM
I was wanting to know if anyone is using the ThrottleTek 737 TQ with the PMDG 737 for FS9 or PMDG 737 NGX for FSX.

I am trying to figure out what to assign the fuel cutoff levers to in FSUIPC.

Mixture Rich and Mixture Lean work well with the Quality Wings 757, but doesn't work with the same setting in PMDG
737s.

I appreciate anyone suggestions.

Thanks

dodiano
10-24-2011, 10:26 PM
Hi Perry,

PMDG is not too caompatible with FSUIPC can you try with the direct assignments for mixture lean and rich but within FSX and let me know??

Take care!

Roberto

mounty
10-26-2011, 01:39 AM
Hi,

Why not use the mouse macro part of FSUIPC. I think the cut-off levers are a microswitch so you should be able to use a mouse macro. I can't remember if they are included in the 737 Macro that Pete developed and included in FSUIPC.

Rob

perryfincher
10-27-2011, 01:13 PM
No, that didn't work either for the PMDG 737.

Well, I managed to break the damn flaps lever in the process of having to redo all the axis setting in FSUIPC for some reason it didn't retain them and couldn't get the flaps handle to work.

Setting the unit to the side and will work on it later.

Thanks

KLM1383
11-14-2011, 11:50 AM
The Throttletek works ok with FSX Leveld 767, PMDG737NGX and the FSX747/8.

Greetz Rob(KLM1383 ,IVAO network)

mounty
11-14-2011, 09:56 PM
Hi,

I just remembered that the PMDG 737 NG for FS9 will always show the fuel levers on, you can't save it with them off. So after a flight and shut down, I used to switch the fuel levers on on my modified GF TQ which turned them back on in the sim.- SO when I started the 737 the next time, I would just turn off the fuel levers from my TQ before doing anythiing else, and then set them tp run when starting the engines. Hope this helps.

Rob

perryfincher
11-15-2011, 06:44 PM
Hey Rob,

What did you set you cutoff levers to in FSUIPC in the button and switches menu to get it to work with PMDG 737?

Thanks

mounty
11-15-2011, 11:03 PM
Hi,

I used a mouse macro and then decided which switch or button to use and assigned it through FSUIPC. Mouse macro's are easy. After opening FS and selecting your aircraft, bring up the TQ on the screen and then go to Modules which has FSUIPC in it. Select Buttons and look in the left bottom corner and you'll see a box "Create a Mouse Macro" Click on that and another screen comes up asking you to name the macro - enter whatever name you want to use then close this window and also click OK on the main menu. You should now have the original aircraft screen plus the TQ pop up. Click on one of the fuel levers ONCE and you will see a screen in the top left corner - name it fuel # and then press TAB ONCE and you should see the lever move, if it does, hit enter then go to the other lever and do the same. Then go to Modules and open FSUIPC - Buttons & switches - gop to the bottom left corner and click on "End Mouse Macro" Then choose the button/switch/lever you want to assign the fuel lever to and go to the right side of the menu and select FS, thenselect the drop down menu and find the fuel lever you want to assign to your switch and click on it in the menu. Do the same for the next switch, then hit OK and you should now have your fuel levers assigned to your switches. So now when you turn on a switch the lever will move and when you turn off the switch your lever will move. If the fuel lever doesn't switch off when you turn your switch off go back into FSUIPC and press the switch and then go to the bottom of the page and select the same lever in the "Command on release" window and then click OK.

So now you have to remember to turn you fuel on after you shut down the aircraft and then when you restart it, beforer you do anything else, set your switches to off which will turn your fuel levers off, then go ahead with aircraft pre flight etc.

Hope this helps

Rob

signmanbob
11-17-2011, 02:13 AM
Hello Perry,
I am using my Throttletek G737 and every function on it works perfectly. I LOVE it. It is VERY easy to set up.
To set the fuel levers, go into the FMC in the NGX and go to Menu>PMDG Setup>Options>Key Commands>Control Stand>(press)Next Page (button) and you will see "ENG 1 IDLE (shift+ctrl+F2)" "ENG 1 CUTOFF (shift+ctrl+F1)" "ENG 2 IDLE (shift+ctrl+F4)" ENG 2 CUTOFF (shift+ctrl+F3).
Now go into FSUIPC and go to "Buttons+Switches". Move the Engine one cutoff switch all the way up, on the G737 and set that button in FSUIPC (check box-Select for key press) then click the "Set" button and type the "ENG 1 IDLE" hotkey combination in the box, then check the box "Key press not to be held" and go down and set "Press the key(s) to be sent when you release this button" to match the "ENG 1 CUTOFF" hotkey combination in the NGX FMC. Double check to be sure you have everything right and set ENG 2 the same way.
It works beautifully!
Also, the best thing to do with FSUIPC early on is to go to the FSUIPC.ini file in the FSX>Modules Folder, open it in "Notepad" and look for Profiles=No and change it to Profiles=Yes, then select "Save". Then make a profile for the NGX in the FSUIPC Options and Settings within FSX. Also use this to make custom profiles for all of your aircraft. That way whenever you load the NGX or other aircraft, all of your controllers will be custom pre-set.
Do this before you make any other settings.
Let me know if you have any problems.

Bob

Morten
12-07-2011, 03:40 PM
Hi Bob,

Thank you for your advice on the G737G Throttle for the 737NGX's fuel switches, great. It works perfect now. Now It is only the engine reverse handles I can not engage sucesfully. Do have any advice for on this ones.

I use win7 64 bit, FSX and of course PMDG 737 NGX!

Best regards
Morten

signmanbob
12-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Hello Morten,
You have to remember that the reversers on the Throttletek is just a "Button" and not an "Axis". Just set them up using the "Button and Key" setup on FSUIPC.
Either reverser pushes the same button, so if you set one, both will be set.
Once in "Button and Keys" on FSUIPC, pull the reverser handle (either one) and you will see FSUIPC recognize it. Go to "Select Keystroke" on the upper left side and choose F2 (if that is still your default keystroke for lowering the throttles in FSX). Then check the box for "Repeat while held) and under "what to do when released", you can set your key that increases the throttle, which should be F3 if you haven't changed it.

Bob

dodiano
12-07-2011, 07:33 PM
Hi Morten,

Have you tried my tutorial?? How to setup reversers is specified on the FSUIPC tutorial!!

Regards,

Roberto

mounty
12-07-2011, 07:36 PM
Hi KLM 1383,

I'm thinking of buying this TQ to use with FS9 PMDG 737,747, and Level D 767. How did you get the 747 to work with 4 of everything, on the Throttletek 737 TQ? Did you use FSUIPC and if so what did you do?

Thanks

Rob

signmanbob
12-07-2011, 09:51 PM
Hello Roberto. I haven't seen the tutorial. Is it on these forums? I've got everything working very good. I can tell that the reversers are not an axis setup, but a button that pushes when you raise the reverser, which really works just fine. In fact, but being a button the reversers come on more consistantly.

My G737 is working great. I really love it. It is making the experience of flying the NGX (I'm also using it for CS757 and 767) so much of an improvement that I could never go back to using CH Throttles for heavy aircraft now.

dodiano
12-07-2011, 09:56 PM
Thought I sent those fsuipc tutorials to you??? Well I am glad you made them work but I will send you the tutorials ! Glad you like the throttle we put a lot of work into it!!

Take care!

Roberto

signmanbob
12-07-2011, 10:28 PM
Roberto, you did a beautiful job on this throttle. I have just a couple of very minor suggestions that I believe would make it more durable and would not cost anything significant at all.

First suggestion is, on the engine cut-off switches; when you put the little white handles on them, I see that you are also using a glue with the screw. This glue is not holding up and my little handles got very loose right away. Instead use a drop of "Gorilla Glue" http://www.gorillaglue.com/, then put your screw in and tighten it. This stuff is bullet proof and one drop is holding my little handles on perfect.

Second suggestion is on the pushrods inside the unit, you have little screws with one small nut on each pivot, which you can't tighten since the lever has to move freely. It would be much better to use two nuts on each of the screws on the pivots and lock them against each other, or use self-locking nuts. Since the screws which are used for pivot pins, have to stay loose, that single nut is going to eventually back out with the movement of the lever.
I am going to go in and double nut all of mine if I can find some tiny nuts that size.

That's the only suggestions that I have on this G737. It is a beautifully made throttle and I can see you have put a lot of thought and work into it. It makes flying the NGX so much more enjoyable to have throttles that move and feel realistically.

I would appreciate having those tutorials.

Thank you for the great product. Anyone that purchases this will be happy with it.

Bob

dodiano
12-07-2011, 10:32 PM
Hi Bob,

Will do that!! Thanks for the Suggestions my friend will try to improve all thos elittle things!!

Take care!

Roberto