PDA

View Full Version : Ray Tracing software

bananas
09-27-2011, 01:48 PM
I've tried OpticalRayTracer 3.2 which is Java and very simple. It also doesn't appear to do mirrors. I have a trial of Beam 4 which seems adequately powerful but I am still learning the interface. Anyone have a preference as to what you use for ray tracing?

wledzian
09-27-2011, 06:19 PM
Have you tried POVRay?

bananas
09-27-2011, 07:01 PM
I'm studying their documentation now. There's a lot of it.

bananas
09-28-2011, 01:14 AM
I have tried to make a correct section of mirror using a rectangle which intersects a hollow sphere in the correct way to produce a mirror of about 40* vertical and 180* horizontal. If I use the intersection command it creates not just the intersected outside part of the shell, but adds surfaces all around it to correspond with the periphery of the box as it is inside the sphere, so the concave area of interest is hidden. It seemed likely that using a hollow sphere + solid rect would create the appropriate intersection but apparently not. Obviously it is possible to create the proper surfaces, maybe using an isosurface? I have found surprisingly little on google about making convex surfaces in povray so far, maybe I just haven't been looking hard enough.

EDIT: I've decided to manually do the layout and ray trace in sketchup. This way is helping me learn the physics much more easily. What ratio between mirror and screen did you use on your build, wledzian? I am using 2:1 in my design now but I have just started learning the physics involved so I am not sure if this is correct.

Further, if I understand properly, the screen should be located approximate 1/2 radius distance from the mirror in order to best approximate a collimated image to the viewer, is that right?

wledzian
09-28-2011, 12:35 PM
the sphere command is a true sphere primitive, not just a hollow shell. A simple intersection will do what you see.