PDA

View Full Version : Advise on Rotary encoders



nosecone
04-26-2011, 06:39 AM
Hi all
I am looking for some info on rotary encoders. I am Planning to use them in conjunction with Leo's BU0836X so I can adust default Altimeter, VOR etc.. gauges
I am looking for small encoders with thin shafts and wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction.

Cheers

Rhys

CessnaGuy
04-26-2011, 07:44 AM
Hi,

These will do the job:

http://cgi.ebay.com/12mm-Rotary-Encoder-Switch-Keyswitch-10pcs-/370504901921?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5643d02521

http://cgi.ebay.com/12mm-Rotary-Encoder-Switch-Keyswitch-10pcs-/180526666907?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a083a549b#ht_3493wt_1202

http://cgi.ebay.com/12mm-Rotary-Encoder-Switch-Flat-Top-Knob-NEW-/320690726641?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4aaaa826f1#ht_2244wt_882

Dont forget to assign the encoders to pair's and make sure that you select 'ENCODER' as the pait rype by using Leo's flash program from his site.

All the best.

Alex

ian@737ng.co.uk
04-27-2011, 02:46 AM
this type of encoder should be set as type 1:4 in Leo's utilty
rgds

ian

nosecone
04-28-2011, 04:52 PM
Thanks Guys
I found these on a web site of a local electronics store http://www.jaycar.co.nz/productResults.asp?keywords=rotary&keyform=KEYWORD&SUBMIT.x=12&SUBMIT.y=10
Can anyone tell me if they will to the trick?

Cheers

Rhys

ian@737ng.co.uk
04-29-2011, 12:53 PM
hello rhys......
the link you posted takes you to rotary switches.
this is a different kind of animal. these are not rotary encoders.
rgds

ian

AK Mongo
04-29-2011, 01:05 PM
Ian,

Could you maybe post in this thread what you told me the other day about the buo836x and encoders for vor, adf, etc. ?it may be helpful for others in deciding on an interface solution. Had I known what you told me I probably would not be using it for this application. Lots of other things, but not the nav instruments.

nosecone
04-29-2011, 06:30 PM
Thanks AK Mongo
I am looking for ways and ideas to adjust vor, adf, hsi, etc gauges. I will be using an LCD mointor to display the gauges with a face plate over the top. The instrument bezels are already gut out.
My questions are

:What interface board would be best
:Types of rotary encoders too use
: Any additional software I need

Cheers

Rhys

nosecone
05-01-2011, 05:18 PM
Hi guys
The rotary encoders on Leo's site , CTS 288 model 288T232R161A2 along with Leo's
buo836x, will that do the job

Rhys

AK Mongo
05-01-2011, 05:55 PM
They will work, and are what I have. They may not work the way you want though. For controls that take a lot of use(vor, adf) they will take a lot of turns to do what you want. 22 clicks /revolution=22 degrees per revolution. Think how long it will take to do a 180 degree change on the card apparently there is not hardware of software to allow leo's card to sense the speed of the encoder and allow faster status changes with faster encoder revolution.

This card and encoder will work great for other things like altimeter pressure setting that do not require traversing such a big range.

Hope this makes sense, and I hope someone out there proves me wrong, or has a solution to this problem.

Reid

nosecone
05-01-2011, 06:17 PM
Thanks Mango,
Does anyone have any options for adjusting vor, adf style gauges in the manner I am looking at doing

Cheers

Rhys

Roland
05-02-2011, 04:07 PM
Aternative method:

http://www.simprojects.nl/interface_with_mjoy-16.htm
http://www.simprojects.nl/fsuipc_compound_button_programming.htm

Cessna172sim
05-12-2011, 12:05 PM
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=3315C-001-006L-ND

nosecone
05-12-2011, 05:11 PM
Thanks Vectro

I have just ordered the Rotary encoder CTS 288 model 288T232R161A2 and Knods from digi-key, they should be here early next week. Hope to have encoders inserted into the bezels and face plate within a couple of weeks

Rhys

smendlik
09-13-2011, 11:49 AM
Any update on how those rotary encoders worked for you and perhaps some pictures?