PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated



amb52
12-31-2010, 01:30 PM
Hello,

I'm new here. I am sorry if this is the wrong forum to post in. But I'm fairly frustrated at the moment although I'm sure it wont be the last time in this freaking awesome hobby. I've always wanted my very own flightsim and now it's possible. Okay now with my questions.

How do you guys get your glass cockpit gauges, pfd, nd, ecam, and what not. I priced out PM's stuff and holy bejesus I'm not paying 1000USD for that. I saw jeehell's stuff. I also watched some videos on youtube of nigel(shamrock guy) he said he was using wilco for the aircraft but does that include the panel displays? I guess I am kinda lost here. Any help would be awesome....THanks!

dodiano
12-31-2010, 01:59 PM
Try some forum searches regarding SOFTWARE!! You have AST which might be a good option! Also some comercial softwares might get you started with your Fligthdeck!!

Take care and Good Luck!

Roberto

amb52
12-31-2010, 02:12 PM
does AST interface with FSUIPC? See I plan on building most of my stuff myself. I really dont want to spend an outrageous amount of money. My budget is about 4800 to start with.

pdpo
01-01-2011, 03:49 PM
Hi ,

if it is airbus you are building then the porject magenta, AST or jeehell are the options.
all have fsuipc interface and jeehell communicates also with iocp (opencockpit hardware)

Greetz Peter

NigelD
03-29-2011, 09:49 AM
Hey, Amb52,
I've been off the forum for a long time, but I've just seen your thread - I am the Nigel you referred to above. Why didn't you drop me a line my man?? I can tell you my gauges are simply the various displays (PFD, ND, ECAM etc.) undocked to additional monitors in a multi-monitor setup. All default Wilco. Like you, I cannot and will not pay that kind of money for PM. In fact, I enquired as to the cost for Airbus recently and received no price back. If you have to ask, you cannot afford it!

I believe this does NOT have to cost the earth. My whole project so far has cost less than 2500. A lot of money, granted, but spread over morethan two years? Not so bad.

PM me if I can be of further help.

Nigel.

TasKiNG
03-29-2011, 12:49 PM
Not Airbus but if you're not after total accuracy then check out:-

FreeFD (http://members.quicknet.nl/scumari/files/FreeFD.zip)
P8R (http://members.quicknet.nl/scumari/fmc/)
P8R FMC Instructions (http://members.home.nl/rkruijer/FMC.htm)

Looks and works great and can be updated with the latest AIRAC files and they are totally free :)

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/davidault/pictures/p8r1.jpg

Also if you want some free standby instruments then check out my sites software section (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/davidault/software.html):-

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/davidault/pictures/smooth_gauges.jpg

Cheers

Dave

amb52
03-29-2011, 12:57 PM
NIgel,

A PM to you there will be!!!

Thanks!

amb52