PDA

View Full Version : Fly -over -waypoints



ktroemer
11-21-2010, 02:51 PM
Hallo guys.....!

Just a curious questions that i cam along.
I think if you enter a waypoint in the CDU you can enter in a way that the A/C turns b4 it reaches the waypoint and also that it passes the waypoint and then turn to the next.
Does anybody know how to enter a waypoint to the CDU that it is a fly - over - wapoint?


regards to all fellow simmers


Klaus

leilson
11-25-2010, 09:01 PM
This is a bug in PM . In Real Acft doesnt happen.

eudoniga
11-29-2010, 11:25 AM
No folks, this time I'm afraid it's a "bug" of the real thing !
Unless something changed recently, when I studied capt. Bulfer "737 Cockpit Companion", this was described as one missing point of the CDU software.
The aircraft can perform either fly-over or fly-by passes, but only in the hard-coded procedures (SID/STAR). It is not available to the pilots when entering manually waypoints.
One Airbus colleague pilot told capt. Bulfer that - instead - the Airbus MCDU has a dedicated key (labeled with a small triangle), to switch between fly-over and fly-by...

bagarie
11-29-2010, 11:35 AM
Eudoniga is right, this time it's not a bug of PM but the real thing.
If you want Ofly a waypoint is'nt programmed on the database CDU,the only workaround is pass to HDG SEL and after the FIX want overfly switch again to LNAV.

Regards
Arnaldo

eudoniga
11-29-2010, 11:51 AM
Yep ... OR ... you can enter a waypoint a few miles AFTER the one you need to overfly, along the same heading, so that you ensure that LNAV won't cut the corner !

leilson
11-29-2010, 01:15 PM
"The aircraft can perform either fly-over or fly-by passes, but only in the hard-coded procedures (SID/STAR). It is not available to the pilots when entering manually waypoints."

Let me see if I understand. If I enter a waypoint like this in the CDU : lax250/20 in a route to los angeles ( just an example) , and Im 50 miles to this created waypoint, the acft would not overfly it? I dont see why not.
Im going to make a test, but Im almost shure it does.

Leilson

spitfire9
11-29-2010, 01:33 PM
Some gps's like the Kln90b ,for instance , will cut the corners at waypoints , to make the turns gentler. Exept on the appr mode.
There is a setting in the gps menu that will turn this feature off, when doing sid/stars or vectored approaches and any time that atc requires you to pass directly over the fix.
Can't remember exactly what or where this feature was on the KLN90B and I'm sure it is different on other Navs.

bagarie
11-29-2010, 02:26 PM
Attention guys, not make confusion.

Try to make a Tear Drop procedure, inserting on the CDU 2 Fix by PD/D syntax. And you will see on the ND that the FMS will cut the corner. The result is that Aircraft start turn before reaching the Active Wpt.

Regard
Arnaldo