PDA

View Full Version : Offsets for overhead gauges



MortenHa
05-21-2010, 07:51 AM
Hi people!

First off, FlightdeckSolutions OVH is working perfectly with PMSystems using SIOC, It's a new world!! And we love it!

Now, Simkits USB gauges for the 737 overhead, not so good :neutral:.

So, I downloaded the Simkits USB gauges SDK manual, and I'm writing my own interface. It's been 20 years since I last did any real work in VB, but I got faith. Just need to get my head wrapped around the concept of USB HID devices descriptors and endpointers first :???:

Accessing the gauges is only half the job, also needs to access the PM offsets holding the values for the gauges.

Found a few possible candidates in sysvar.txt, but perhaps someone here knows them and their scaling etc. ?

We are talking about:
Fuel Temp
APU EGT
Cabin Diff Pres
Cabin Climb
Cabin Heat


And yes, I will share my work if I succeed :)

Morten

oal331
05-24-2010, 12:33 PM
I don't know about these offsets, but i have the F.I Gauges more than 2 years and they are not working all with PMSystems. Only few of them. The strange is that PmSystems has build in the interface with FI and they had to work 100% as these 2 companies had work together to connect their products.....

Eddie

MortenHa
05-25-2010, 06:08 AM
Hi Eddie!

I've sent an e-mail to PM support asking if these are the right offsets:

What are the offsets (and scaling) for the following gauges:

737 FuelTemp (0x56B6)? What does +60 mean?
737 APU EGT (0x5604)?
737 Diff press (0x56B8 )?
737 Cabin Climb
737 Duct press
737 Cabin Temp (0x5671)?

But no answer yet :(

I also wonder why the two companies (FI and SIMKITS) only partly support the OVH gauges.
One theory might be that PM has not yet developed the logics for these gauges completely.
PMSystems is very much a "work in progress". There are several systems not yet fully implemented.
Such as Gen Drive Disconnect among others.

The one thing I do know, is that Enrico will continue to develop PMSystems and it just a matter of time before all the functions in the overhead is up and running with useable offsets to manipulate functions with HW.

Patience is perhaps all that is needed :)

oal331
09-06-2010, 01:47 PM
Hello,

did you have any news or reply from PM about FI's gauges?

Thanks

Eddie

Pierre24
09-07-2010, 12:08 AM
Hi Eddie
Check this link, if it can help.

http://www.homepage.bluewin.ch/b737/38401.html

Best Regards

Pierre

oal331
09-07-2010, 07:10 PM
Bonjour Pierre,

do you mean that all your FI's gauges are working 100% with PmSystems. Does Cabin Climb, Cabin ALT/DIIF PRESS and TEMP are working?
In my system, they are lighting, but only APU, DUCT and FUEL Temps are working.

Eddie

Pierre24
09-08-2010, 04:21 AM
Hi Eddie,


The gauges work 100% with PMsys, and very fine! but you must do the following:

1: Install GSA-55 with the USB-driver found on FI web-page.

2: Install Flight illusion software. ( only needed for reference if you need to the "number" of each of the instruments.

But the numbers are probably like this: 180 EGT, 181 Cabin climb, 182(needle nr 1) Diff press, 182(needle nr 2) Cabin ALT, 183 (also here needle one and 2) Duct press L and R, 184 Fuel temp, 185 cabin temp, 186 oxy press.

3: Go to your computers device manager, and locate which com-port are used for the GSA-55. In my place it is com-3.

4: Open PMsystems.ini and locate at the bottom the two lines regarding flight illusion. The first line you change 0 to the number of your com-port. (3 in my place. The next line you change 0 to 1. That enables pmsystems to scan for the instruments on com-3.

5: Run PMsystems and let it run for some minutes. It will locate the instruments automatically, and that take some time.

6: open Menu and click on flight illusion. Then you can change the txt-file for the instruments. (I had to enter text there manually). It is actually self explaining what you have to do. But here you need the numbers for reference as described in post number 2 above.

On the top of the text file it is written what you have to insert below for each instrument. Text and numbers.

7. Close the textbox, and quit PMsystems.

8. Open PMsystems.ini, and set the "flight illusion instrument scanner" from 1 to 0. That prevent that PM scan through all the instruments every time PM is launched.

And finally, copy the following lines, under PMsys in your file flight illusion.txt:

//…
180, 1, apuegt, 0.72, 4000

181, 1, cabinclimb, 1, 1000

182, 1, cabinalt, 1, 2000

182, 2, diffpress, max 10000, 2000

183, 1, bleedpsi1, max 80, 500

183, 2, bleedpsi2, max 80, 500

184, 1, fueltemp, 1, 4000

185, 1, cabintemp, 0.66, 2000

186, 1, oxypress, 0.66, 2000

Please, let me know.

Regards

Pierre

oal331
09-08-2010, 03:34 PM
Hello again,

Pierre, i made the changes you are writing at your site, also to previous post. These changes was only for some of the values in gauges, as other gauges was working. I changed only the different speed values you had.

I made a test flight and the big needle of Cabin altitude was moving until ~7 PSI but not the small needle for cabin altitude. Also during climb the needle cabin climb was idle.
But all these where also the same at PmSystems screen !! So ?

When descending the cabin climb was a llitle down of zero, maybe correct for climb descent.

About temp, i didn't check it yet

What version of PmSystems do you have?

And something more, about APU EGT. The needle is moving too fast, i tryed to make the value 4000 --> 1000 (180, 1, apuegt, 0.72, 4000) , but no difference.

Any ideas about them?

Thanks again for your help

Eddie

Peter Nielsen
09-10-2010, 05:38 AM
Hi Pierre,
I did exactly what you wrote and the only Gauge that is working is the APU.

all the other ones do not do anything at all?

any hints?
Rgds
Peter

Pierre24
09-11-2010, 11:35 AM
Hi all,

Eddie, I use the latest version of PMsys 170.

Peter, You must control the program Flight Illusion (GSA software), that addresses each of the instruments have been properly assigned. Or, delete your old files, and starts the installation.

Regards

Pierre