PDA

View Full Version : CNC Software recomendations

Polmer
03-18-2010, 08:01 AM
Hello,

I read the recent posts from Wendy & Westozy about there new found love for the CNC , and frankly, I have become quite jealous. Instead of standing on the sideline, I have decided to jump in myself and buy a modest CNC DIY kit.:mrgreen:

My question here is actually about CNC software.
What Cad/Cam software would you recommend for the building cockpit panels?

I am looking for the functionality I need, without all of the stuff i will never use. I have looked at G-simple ( its free!), but it doesnt look like it offers much on the engraving options/fonts/etc.

Keep in mind, I am not an engineer, and hoping to use something that wont make take me years to figure out or cost a bundle.

I will be using Mach 3 to control the CNC.

Thanks,

~Polmer

Westozy
03-18-2010, 08:39 AM
Hi Polmer,

I highly recommend VCarvePro5 from Vectric, it's a little pricey but if you think about what you can achieve with it, it becomes priceless! It cost me about AUD$600 but I recovered that with the first job I produced with it. If you just want to make panels for your own sim, you will get extremely high quality panels comparable to some of our high end suppliers and we all know what they charge! Plastic is quite cheap and results come quickly, VCarve is not hard to learn. If you go to www.vectric.com you can watch the training videos, these helped me immensely. They also helped me decide to choose VCarve.

Cheers Gwyn

iwik
03-18-2010, 01:36 PM
Hi Polmer,
Im new to CNC myself and bought Cut2D from Vectric.This is a much lighter version than what Gwyn uses(his can do 3D) but for ease of use and a beginner i think its a winner.Itll only do 2D ,d/l the trial and cut their samples and see what you think.I didnt want anything complex and like you
take to long to master.Very pleased with the results ,couldnt justify the price of VcarvePro for the amount i would use it.

Good Luck with your CNCing.

Rgds
Les