PDA

View Full Version : Question on this 7" lcd



spitfire9
12-26-2009, 11:51 PM
I was looking at one of these 7" Samsung monitors on Ebay.

Seems it is powered soley by usb,, no power cord and no vga etc.
Says it is 800X480 resolution and can be used as a second monitor for your pc.

And a very good price.

I can,t seem to find a fault at using it for a cockpit GPS or FMS etc.

Maybe someone else who knows more about this kind of thing could give an opinion.

Thanks.here is a link to one on Ebay
http://cgi.ebay.ca/SAMSUNG-SYNC-U70-7INCH-BLACK-MINI-WIDE-LCD-MONITOR-USB_W0QQitemZ280340594730QQcmdZViewItemQQptZComputer_Monitors?hash=item41459a002a

BHawthorne
12-26-2009, 11:59 PM
Those are actually Samsung photo frames. There was a thread awhile back here about that. It went into detail about them. I guess search here for "samsung photo frame".

Jylhami
12-27-2009, 03:33 AM
The link provided is actually a monitor as Spitfire9 says.
The Pietila brothers are going to make an avionics update using that monitor. They will use 2 pcs of Reality XP's Garmin 430 units shown on this unit rotated 90 degrees.

http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/kuvat/

spitfire9
12-27-2009, 12:02 PM
Thats why I thought they were so interesting.
They are not photo frames but can be used as a second monitor.

With only one usb cord to run ,it sure seems like a great idea.

I take it , that you would not have to hook it to your video card ,, so I wonder how it would work on a cpu that is already running 2 monitors off of a single video card ??

BHawthorne
12-27-2009, 12:14 PM
Thats why I thought they were so interesting.
They are not photo frames but can be used as a second monitor.

With only one usb cord to run ,it sure seems like a great idea.

I take it , that you would not have to hook it to your video card ,, so I wonder how it would work on a cpu that is already running 2 monitors off of a single video card ??

Yep, the graphics processor in these panels are in the display. Same PC display functionality of the photo frame versions though. USB2 connection. Why I mentioned the Samsung photo frames is that they do the same thing at the same resolution and in some cases are cheaper.

gblock
01-05-2010, 08:28 PM
Here's another.
http://www.thinkgeek.com/computing/usb-gadgets/c609/?pfm=Carousel_Lilliput_5

Sweetwater
01-05-2010, 09:11 PM
Thanks for that link Elliot... That solves the GPS display problem for my Cessna 441 project....

Jeff

john van berkel
01-06-2010, 05:49 AM
hello
I have one of this monitors for my fmc
and guess what it works like a charm plug and play
it is a monitor and not a fotoframe

regards john

CessnaGuy
01-06-2010, 07:26 AM
Here are a few USB LCD's for Brit's:

http://www.carcomputer.co.uk/shop/monitors/usb-monitors-2

SATNAV 'LOOKING' 4" USB LCD:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/MIMO-UM-430-USB2-Powered-Monitor/dp/B001RUGDR6/ref=sr_1_14?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1262777316&sr=1-14

mondo50m
01-06-2010, 09:29 AM
Heres another thought if anyone is interested. Sabrent offers an adapter for the usb that will allow up to 6 additional monitors without using a video card. I went to the Sabrent website and looked at the unit for the PC. Not sure if it will do what we need, but looks like it is worth looking at.

Milt

mondo50m
01-06-2010, 09:47 AM
Just a couple oter things on the adapter i mentioned in my last post. It will display 1600x1200/1680x1050 32 bit graphics. It will handle up to 6 displays. It is being sold for about $75.00. I only saw one review on NewEgg that gave it a 100% rating but the reviewer is not using it for gaming. If anyone is getting or has one of these, keep us informed please. This would be an inexpensive solution to multiple monitors if it really works.

Milt

AK Mongo
01-06-2010, 07:51 PM
Just a couple oter things on the adapter i mentioned in my last post. It will display 1600x1200/1680x1050 32 bit graphics. It will handle up to 6 displays. It is being sold for about $75.00. I only saw one review on NewEgg that gave it a 100% rating but the reviewer is not using it for gaming. If anyone is getting or has one of these, keep us informed please. This would be an inexpensive solution to multiple monitors if it really works.

Milt

Just looked this up and found a youtube review.

Looks like a neat idea!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLLFvSgCwJc
Will control one additional monitor per unit, ($55 each) on tigerdirect. They have several reviews, but none specific to simming.

Sweetwater
01-23-2010, 06:57 PM
Captains,

This has been an interesting topic... In fact I took the plunge and bought the 7" Lilliput USB monitor from "Think Geek." I got it Thursday night and in a few minutes had it working. You need to install the driver software found on the purchase page for Win7 users if you use Win7.

But here is the rub... as you can see from the picture below, it works neat as a GPS or any other unit you may want. (as long as the view can be undocked in FSX.) The problem is, it literally put my frame rates into the dirt! Before install, FSX was 30-50 FPS and smooth... ( Frames depend on scenery and wx.)

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-5/176788/gps2.jpg

Now, and this is a showstopper for me... I get 6 to 15 FPS... Doesn't matter whether the unit is on or not... Once you boot it is detected and if you try to run FSX it is hammered.

Sooo... I removed the "driver software" that came with it and instantly I am back to high frames.. Really disappointed as it does look and work as a display well... I think that software the comes with it must be a "virtual" vid card of sorts as it won't work without it.

So, I spent time looking over the book and in the fine print it says it doesn't work with Hardware acceleration. It isn't recommend on 64 bit systems or DirectX games etc.... Sure wish the advertising said something about that... In fact, if you try to load FSX with it on, it hangs... so I have to load FSX first and then fire up the monitor

So.... I went forum hopping and have not found a word about this issue... I am hoping I goofed up somehow as I really want this to work..

Any ideas guys?

Jeff

System - Dual Core Pentium 3.0Ghz - ATI X1950GT Pro - 256 DDR2 - 2 gig DDR2 sys memory... Using one video card with dual output to drive a projector and one to drive a 17" monitor...