PDA

View Full Version : TH2GO for forward visuals and MIP



Drewsta
10-30-2009, 02:30 AM
Hey guys, I'm getting close now to setting up screens etc. I have the TH2go but are waiting on purchasing some cheap 19 inch monitors (looking on ebay :) My question is, if I run the TH2go off 1 DVI output on my 8800gt, can I have from the TH2go, 1 screen as Forward visuals, 1 screen as Captain/split to FO and 1 screen to engines(middle)? Or can the TH2go only be used for outside visuals split across 3 screens? I will be using fs2004 and all screens at 1280x1024. I'm sure I can but just wanted to double check.


Computer is

Intel Duo core 2 E6600 clocked to 2.7Ghz
3.2 gig ram
Nvidia 8800gt gainward overclocked
360 gig HD
After market cooling fan
Fs2004 only

Thanks again
Drewsta

JWS
10-30-2009, 06:36 AM
Be sure you get screens that support the resolution that the TH2Go can handle. I bought 3 ACER 20"screens (1680x1050) only to find out that Matrox only supports 3x1680x1050=5040x1050 at 57 Hz. My ACERs don't like 57HZ and only run on 60Hz. So no max resolution for me (had to stick to 4320x900):(

JWS

Drewsta
10-30-2009, 07:34 AM
Thanks mate for the reply but my question still remains. Can I display my instrument panels and the forward visuals through the Th2GO box with all screens set at 1280x1024? Or ...will it display only one screen stretched across the 3 monitors and good for visuals only?

Thanks
Drewsta

rjvcarvalho
10-30-2009, 08:03 AM
Yes, you can use the 3 screens as independant screens, no problem. It only goes full screen if you maximize while pressing the ctrl key.

Drewsta
10-30-2009, 10:58 AM
Thanks Kurby! I thought so but just needed to check.

Drewsta

andarlite
10-30-2009, 01:49 PM
Thanks mate for the reply but my question still remains. Can I display my instrument panels and the forward visuals through the Th2GO box with all screens set at 1280x1024? Or ...will it display only one screen stretched across the 3 monitors and good for visuals only?

Thanks
Drewsta


Seems like a serious waste of a TH2G to do this. You could have done this without the TH2G just by buying another cheap video card. The other thing is I think you are going to have problems doing the Capt/FO split. As I recall, the TH2G doesn't take too kindly to one of it's output going to a splitter and 2 monitors.

Regards,
Henry

Drewsta
10-30-2009, 06:40 PM
Hi Henry, the TH2go will be used for 3 projectors eventually as intended. I have a dual output video card and the other port i'll run the captains split cable off that one. My motherboard doesnt support SLI but I will be getting another cheap P4 or similar with another video card later to improve the whole setup. The Th2go I will be using for everything just in the short term. Thanks for the heads up on the splitter cable mate :)

1st machine
Intel duo core 2 E6600 clocked to 2.7ghz
3.2 gig ram
Gainward overclocked 8800gt

2nd Machine

Pentium 4 3.0 ghz or similar
2 gig Ram
similar video card

How do you think fs2004 would run at 1280x 1024 with a projector for forward visuals, 3 screens for the MIP and one 22 touchscreen for overhead on the setup above, or even just the first machine initially? If I can achieve a steady 30 fps , I'll be happy.

Thanks
Drewsta

andarlite
10-30-2009, 10:11 PM
How do you think fs2004 would run at 1280x 1024 with a projector for forward visuals, 3 screens for the MIP and one 22 touchscreen for overhead on the setup above, or even just the first machine initially? If I can achieve a steady 30 fps , I'll be happy.

Thanks
Drewsta


Drew, you should have no problems running that with fs2004.

I'm running 3 22 inch LCD at 1680x1050 each plus 3 17 inch for the MIP with a e7300 overclocked to 3.2GHz, 8800gtx and that's on FSX. I get 24fps outside of major cities and 12-15fps in them. Within the next week I will be replacing that with an i7 920, 6Gb ram, 275GTX Video and 8800GTX as 2nd video. :D

Regards,
Henry

Drewsta
10-31-2009, 04:11 AM
Drew, you should have no problems running that with fs2004.

I'm running 3 22 inch LCD at 1680x1050 each plus 3 17 inch for the MIP with a e7300 overclocked to 3.2GHz, 8800gtx and that's on FSX. I get 24fps outside of major cities and 12-15fps in them. Within the next week I will be replacing that with an i7 920, 6Gb ram, 275GTX Video and 8800GTX as 2nd video. :D

Regards,
Henry


Hey Henry thanks for that mate, thats good to know. Have fun with your I7 920 and let me know how it all runs. I'll be in the maret for something similar eventually.