PDA

View Full Version : Hi-Fidelity Motion Simulation Development Kit

smacdon2112
07-20-2009, 01:09 PM
Greetings to the mycockpit.org community. I am a first time poster.

Full disclosure: I am a professional in motion simulation and want to solicit feedback from this community on a hi-fidelity motion simulation development kit my company recently launched called STAR (http://www.simcraft.com/star.html) (which stands for Some Time and Assembly Required.) It essentially takes most of the engineering out of motion simulation for cockpit and sim builders. The idea for this kit is born from a labor of love for my late father who founded SimCraft (http://www.simcraft.com) in 1998 and also pioneered the SimCraft architecture for motion simulation. Thank you in advance for any and all feedback.

Sean

Badge
07-20-2009, 01:46 PM
What is the maximum weight that your product can support? The vast majority of us have plans for a full size 2 place cockpit with enclosure can with a weight approaching 800kg.

smacdon2112
07-20-2009, 02:26 PM
The max payload is 500 pounds for occupant, monitors, controls + seat.

Roland
07-20-2009, 05:20 PM
Hi Sean,

I see that you are using good grade actuators and fast software. That will help a lot in getting good motion response.
For the 2DoF: For a flightsim I'd advice more pitch angle than roll angle. It maybe different for car sims, but you'll want lots of pitch for take-off acceleration and braking decelleration.
Why not add heave as a third DoF? with your actuators and software speed, lots of nice heave effects could be generated. (but it may be a bit complicated for the ready-to-fly kit kind of setup due to weightbalancing)

I had also thought about preparing a 3DoF kit of my system a while back. Unfortunately I don't live in the Far East anymore (material prices in Europe are just terrible, the kit would be 7 ~ 10x more expensive than when sourcing from Taiwan or China)