PDA

View Full Version : new cockpitsonic FMC



choffmann
05-20-2009, 06:41 AM
I have bought the new released cockpitsonic FMC and it turns out to work and look very nice.
It it simply connected to the power supply (cable is included) and to the PC network (network cable also included in package). No need to configure any monitor.
If time permits, I will post a short review in 1 to 2 weeks, when I have gathered more experience with it. Some pics for the moment.

Cheers Chris

mmakela
05-20-2009, 09:41 AM
Looking good! I'm glad You like it. Please post a rewiev soon.

PittsburghLever
05-20-2009, 03:41 PM
I have bought the new released cockpitsonic FMC and it turns out to work and look very nice.


Indeed it does. Out of curiosity: What software is it running
or rather, how does it interface with FS(X)?

salautom
05-20-2009, 04:42 PM
The FMC 'talks' to Project Magenta

Jan Pemöller
05-21-2009, 03:51 AM
Hi,

where did you found it and what is the price?

Best regards
Jan

Wendy
05-21-2009, 04:35 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it is made by Flyengravity.


Regards,
Wendy

nricky
05-21-2009, 04:50 AM
Hi

The FMC is made by Cockpitsonic. I saw it on the exhibition in Holland. Mathias is very proud of his new FMC, he told me. It is amazing what Mathias has done over the years, many people laugh at him a long time ago, but not anymore. The price is for the quality is ok, it goes for 1995 Euros.

Cheers Norbert

choffmann
06-08-2009, 06:02 PM
I have used my new cockpitsonic FMC now a couple of weeks and I would like to share my experiences.

The FMC comes in a small box containing as well the network cable and the power cord. The FMC is made of sturdy metal, all closed and compact with the original measures. Except for the added DZUS fastener screws there is no other designated mechanism to fasten it to a FMC bay. Setup is very easy: You connect it to your network router and turn the power on. There is a setup page on the in-built monitor screen, where you have to enter the server IP adress and subnet mask (the PC on which FS is running). When network connection is established, the FMC is updated by UPDComm. This option should be set "on" in the ini-file of the used software. The alphanumeric keys are - in my opinion - a little bit too hard to press, but I don´t know the feel of this pressure of the real 737 FMC. I certainly did no stress test to the buttons, so I can not effectively say, how long they might live. But to judge from the workmanship, they seem rather durable. I experienced no faults during the use so far except for one thing: I have twice encountered a paused update between to waypoints, i.e. the FMC seems to crash, upon input from the alphanumeric keys, nothing happens at all. When I re-loaded the router, the FMC recovered. On the second occasion, strangely, upon arrival at the next waypoint, everything was going fine again. I do not know yet, if this is a fault of my network setup and maybe not caused by the FMC itself. Apart from this, I did not encounter any flaws. The FMC is quite expensive, compared to other suppliers´products, but I think, owing to its solid workmanship, it is worth this money.
The monitor is full-color, so you can readily use the different options offered by the software (color, white, green). The message and fault signs are lightened and work as they should, the alphanumeric keys and the LSKs are already backlighted (yellow-orange) and this can be dimmed by the brightness button. All in all, I am very pleased with this product.

Chris

nricky
06-09-2009, 03:58 AM
Hi Chris

Nice review, great what Mathias has build.

Cheers Norbert

richard hutchinson
07-24-2009, 09:21 AM
Hi all

Due to cost restraints and the fact that I am flying the absolutely superb Level D 767, I opted for this FMC and it has arrived today, so I will post an update on how I got on with it (or how I didn't) shortly if anyone is interested. I just don't understand VR insight making the damn things in black! No heavy has ever had black instrumentation so why do it? Beats me.

I am also using the VR MCP Combo (which has been stripped out of its case and resprayed grey and added under the glareshield. This works very well with Level D's 767 as it has an SDK written for it and thus far, has proved reliable in flight.

Have heard bad feedback from people trying to use it on other aircraft. Until I can afford a better one, it does the job.

Regards
Richard