PDA

View Full Version : B767-300 or B737-800?



HondaCop
03-28-2009, 11:06 PM
Hello everyone!

I am debating myself on whether I should go ahead and build a home cockpit based on the B767-300 or the B737-800.

I am very much inclined towards the B767-300 because of the awesome Level-D flight model, but I think it would be much easier to build a B737-800, considering the wide variety of parts for it and since it's more of a glass cockpit, it would be easier to build.

But what flight model are you guys using for your B737-800 cockpits? Are you all using the Project Opensky B737-800 flight model and then just use Project Magenta and other vendors for the instruments? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Michael Carter
03-28-2009, 11:12 PM
If you really want a 767, then build it. Nothing worth having is ever easy.

HondaCop
03-28-2009, 11:17 PM
If you really want a 767, then build it. Nothing worth having is ever easy.

I agree with you, but I guess I want to build one which is "easier", with more glass instruments and less knobs. lol

tomenglish2000
03-29-2009, 06:10 AM
I had exactly the same questions as you when I started my build. To 767 or not to, that was the question. I chose 767. I realised that the question I should have been asking myself was which is the plane I want to fly, not which would be the easiest/cheapest/quickest. After all, if you are going to spend the money you might as well spend it on something you want rather than a compromise.

The realism in the level D flight model is also another reason I wanted the 767 for my sim. Plus with Niko's Lekseecon and the opencockpits all of the switches, buttons and lights can be interfaced with the exception of only a handful that even puts PM to shame in terms of ease of use and functionality for the price you pay.

True there are not that many parts about for the 767 and most of us 767 builders make our own. I am currently completing my CNC router which should allow me to create very accurate panels (in my opinion more accurate and realistic than some of the 767 panels recently shown by a certain Canadian manufacturer, at least I hope so!). It is costly, but I have done the math and expect the cost of the CNC and materials to just about equal what I would expect to shell out to a manufacturer, so it isn't really any more expensive.

So in summary, if you want to fly a 767 that is what you should build. Dont compromise or you may end up regretting it.

Tom.

HondaCop
03-29-2009, 10:03 AM
Hi Tom! Thanks for your response and thanks for letting me see things in a right perspective!

I am gonna go for the B767-300 since I simply love this plane and like you said, it's about flying what you like and not making a compromise.

With that being said, do you have a B767-300 MIP template? I ave seen one for the B737 which someone took to a local machine shop who had a CNC router and was able to have them mill out a MIP with it.

I know that if I can get one of those MIP templates and get my local machine shop to mill one out for me, it will get me motivated and kick start my project.

Thanks for any help...

Polmer
03-29-2009, 11:16 AM
Hello,

I see that are going to build the 767 after all, good choice.
I dont have any MIP templates, but have some great links with measurements that may help you along the way. You may have to customize your MIP based
on your monitor selection as well.

http://www.simpit.de/b767dim/index.html

http://meriweather.com/767/767-fd.html


~Polmer

ran56
03-29-2009, 11:23 AM
Hi Honda,
Good choice the 76er + LDS :)
Tom just hit the spot, why I chose the B763 + LDS.

You are also most welcome to join us, the B763 gang over Yahoo, with lots of B76 builders and tons of info about how to and why etc ;)

To subscribe to the group, just email b767homecockpitbuilders-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

Welcome on board ,

Ran.

tomenglish2000
03-29-2009, 11:33 AM
Hi,

I have been drawing up my own custom CAD design for the 767 MIP. The reason for this is that I want to use actual gauges (Flight Illusion ones) rather than stick a massive TFT screen behind the panel. This way I can make the design fit the gauges correctly and also make it fit the 3 TFT screens I will be using for the EADI EHSI and EICAS screens which are 3x 15.4" Widescreen screens in a portrait orientation. I have not completed the designs yet as I have not completed the CNC Router but hope to have that finally finished in about 2 weeks. It has taken a long time. I hope to have the plans completed by then so I can actually make something!

If you are serious about building a 767 then there is a Yahoo group you should join that has (at present) 133 builders all offering advice and ideas. The group also has plans and pictures for lots of panels. It is the best source of 767 builders information on the net to my knowledge and when I have my plans completed I will upload them to that group.

The group is called b767homecockpitbuilders and I hope you find it useful.

Tom.

HondaCop
03-29-2009, 01:59 PM
WOW guys! I really appreciate all the input and support!! :D Ok, here is a phto of my "current" B767-300 home cockpit :lol: Nothing as elaborate as many of you guys, but this is where I currently stand:

http://www.livedispatch.org/home_cockpit_version1_910.jpg

I am at a crossroads as to how I wanted to continue with this project. My plans were to buy maybe 4 more 24" monitors, two to complete the top view out of the cockpit via the TripleHead2Go adapter, one for the overhead display and one for the pedestal. That would have completed my cockpit but with the amount of money needed to get the additional hardware needed, I think I might be better off just getting a 767 MIP and going with a more elaborate setup.

Here is what it would cost me to get what I still need:

Four 24" monitors = $1,000
TripleHead2Go Digital = $300

That is $1,300, which I think would be better to spend it on a MIP and additional components.

What you guys think?
______________________
Intel Core2Duo E8400 @ 4.0Ghz ( 500MHz x 8 )
DFI LanParty UT P35 T2R
2 x 2GB OCZ Flex II DDR2 PC9200
EVGA GeForce 280GTX / (3) 24" Dell 2405FPW 16:10
Western Digital SATA II 320Gb x 2 on RAID0 (Vista Home Premium x64)
Western Digital SATA II 320Gb x 1 (FSX)
------------------------------------------------------------
ASX/UTX/GEX/REX/RC4/LD4
Level-D B767-300/FS2Crew
------------------------------------------------------------
LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

Michael Carter
03-29-2009, 02:34 PM
I think you'll end up getting both, it's just a matter of which one first.

This hobby never ends. Unless you buy a Level-D to start with.

HondaCop
03-29-2009, 02:41 PM
I think you'll end up getting both, it's just a matter of which one first.

This hobby never ends. Unless you buy a Level-D to start with.

lol True! :D Actually, I am in the process of purchasing a new home by September of this year, so maybe I can just finish my current setup and then move on to the full cockpit project. Once I am settled into my new home, which hopefully will sport a nice, huge "recreational room" where I can start my full cockpit project.

Hessel Oosten
03-29-2009, 06:11 PM
To make you hungry .....for the 767 ..,

attached a photo of some panels we make ourselves in the **Yahoo 767 builders group**.
See before. Many other examples and files there.

Hessel