PDA

View Full Version : Frameless Monitors



Kennair
03-18-2009, 03:14 AM
I just spent the weekend at the International Airshow in Avalon, Australia and while wet and windy, it was still a spectacle of flight. Once again I saw monitors that sim builders could only dream of. 32" LCD's completely frameless! Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to ask where they came from (nor how much they would cost!). Here is a promotional photo of them from the airshow website. I wonder does anyone else have information on them?

Ken.

Michael Carter
03-18-2009, 07:34 AM
Those look great. I've never seen frameless monitors anywhere. I wonder what holds them together or how the edges are protected. Those are perfect for the sim builder.

Efe Cem Elci
03-18-2009, 07:45 AM
Are we talking completely frameless or a very thin frame compared to the monitors in common use today? You'd think it would be the latter...

CessnaGuy
03-18-2009, 07:48 AM
Hey guys, ive seen this stuff before!

Check this out, the screens mentioned (or what you are talking about) are SEAMLESS VIDEO PANELS, you can put them in just about any variation to make widescreen video walls, video screens, video decor etc, and again would be excellent for simming, but it all comes at a HEFTY PRICE!!

http://www.seamlessdisplay.com/products_radius320.htm

This is how it works:

http://www.seamlessdisplay.com/co_technology.htm

CessnaGuy
03-18-2009, 07:53 AM
Also Check this out:

http://www.seamlessdisplay.com/markets_home.htm

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/GAyamMuSXvA&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/GAyamMuSXvA&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZWivZEtH6-c&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZWivZEtH6-c&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Kennair
03-18-2009, 08:24 AM
Are we talking completely frameless or a very thin frame compared to the monitors in common use today? You'd think it would be the latter...

Efe, these monitors are completely seemless. Butt them together edge to edge and there is no border. Absolutely sweet! I've seen the Seemless Display website Alex pointed to and perhaps that's the system these guys were using but they just looked like ordinary LCD's with glass panel right to the edge. Thales Group was the aerospace company displaying them along with their warfare simulation systems.

Ken.

Michael Carter
03-18-2009, 09:07 AM
Good info on the site and everything but the price.

I guess if you have to ask the price you can't afford it. :roll:

Jonesy22
03-18-2009, 09:35 AM
this might be in everyones price range.

http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://home.comcast.net/~seekeating/r/th2go/pics/side.JPG&imgrefurl=http://home.comcast.net/~seekeating/r/th2go/&usg=__ZEzWPJITSELYPDL3X1q8LtGj2a8=&h=386&w=445&sz=32&hl=en&start=1&um=1&tbnid=dQxFO-BkKBb5RM:&tbnh=110&tbnw=127&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dmonitor%2Bwith%2Bfresnel%2Blens%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26um%3D1

ive seen these fresnel lenses get pretty big so if u have 3 or even 2 large screens u could use this method to remove the frame , i guess the bigger the lense the bigger the distance between the lense and the monitor.

Kennair
03-18-2009, 10:47 AM
this might be in everyones price range.

http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://home.comcast.net/~seekeating/r/th2go/pics/side.JPG&imgrefurl=http://home.comcast.net/~seekeating/r/th2go/&usg=__ZEzWPJITSELYPDL3X1q8LtGj2a8=&h=386&w=445&sz=32&hl=en&start=1&um=1&tbnid=dQxFO-BkKBb5RM:&tbnh=110&tbnw=127&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dmonitor%2Bwith%2Bfresnel%2Blens%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26um%3D1

ive seen these fresnel lenses get pretty big so if u have 3 or even 2 large screens u could use this method to remove the frame , i guess the bigger the lense the bigger the distance between the lense and the monitor.

Thanks Jonesy, but I've experimented with Fresnel lenses before with poor results. They're great when viewed absolutely dead in front, but as soon as you move slightly off center the image is distorted or lost. Cheap yes, effective no. There was a system called Bugeye which was marketed some years back using fresnel lenses in front of 3 LCD monitors but i believe it went out of business due to lack of interest.

Ken.

BHawthorne
03-19-2009, 02:36 AM
Considering the ridiculous price difference between 3 LCDs and and 3 seamless LCDs, I just put up with bezels. You could build a lot of simpit for the price of one of those seamless. ;)

ddimm
03-20-2009, 11:17 AM
Thanks Jonesy, but I've experimented with Fresnel lenses before with poor results. They're great when viewed absolutely dead in front, but as soon as you move slightly off center the image is distorted or lost. Cheap yes, effective no. There was a system called Bugeye which was marketed some years back using fresnel lenses in front of 3 LCD monitors but i believe it went out of business due to lack of interest.

Ken.


It looks like Bugeye is still in business....http://www.bugeyetech.com/home.php

Michael Carter
03-20-2009, 11:41 AM
"The platform also delivers privacy, where viewing the image without being seated in front of the lens is not possible. The intended viewer sits in front of the display and the image is concentrated on them"


They've managed to spin that into a benefit instead of a drawback.

Over $2K for a box with three Fresnel lenses???