PDA

View Full Version : Airbus software



mnovak22
02-11-2009, 12:29 AM
Hello everyone,
I have seen a number of videos of simulators for airbuses that are using non-standard FS planes. I just wanted to ask what addon software are people using to get the most realistic a320 experience?
Thanks,

Michal

NigelD
02-11-2009, 04:51 AM
Hi,
For me it's the Wilco feelThere series. I've got 1 and 2, giving me the A319 up to the A340-600. Not particularly by choice, I should add! When I started flying online and in my current VA, I was encouraged to try them. Overall I think they are pretty good! The only fault with them lies in the FMC, which is sometimes a bit 'buggy'. But the flight model is good and msot things work well. Not all of the overhead is functional though. Not to the extent that a PMDG aircraft is for example.

www.airsimmer.com will at some stage be releasing an A320. If they deliver what they promise, it will be awesome! There are other Airbus products out there such as PSS, but I have no experience of them.

Hope that is some help!
Nigel.

warvet
02-11-2009, 06:03 AM
To be honest the FMC in Wilco is totally unrealistic and very buggy.

Tim

fweinrebe
02-11-2009, 06:21 AM
You can try Airbus a320 Professional by Just Flight. This is one of the the old PSS Airbusses. http://www.justflight.com/product.asp?pid=257.

I find their FMC way better than the Wilco ones. To add to Tim's comments.

mnovak22
02-12-2009, 11:15 AM
thanks for the replies. Does anyone know if it is possible to download demo versions of these software somewhere before I actually buy it.
I would like to try it out before spending money on them. On the Just flight website I see some demos but none for the airbus in FSX and for wilco I do not see any demos.

Thanks

PittsburghLever
02-12-2009, 05:19 PM
To be honest the FMC in Wilco is totally unrealistic and very buggy.

Tim

I can't comment on the part of being unrealistic, but the buggyness I can also bear witness to. I am hoping for a SP soon, but as the last one is from January, my hopes are not high.

mnovak22
03-02-2009, 12:45 AM
So other than wilco and just flight, there does not exist any other software for flying A320 in fsx?

fweinrebe
03-02-2009, 01:13 AM
Have a look on http://www.simmarket.com and search for Airbus. There are a lot of Airbus products out there.

mnovak22
03-02-2009, 12:03 PM
Thanks for the link, it didnīt realise there is so man add-ons. In my search for airbus software though, I came across "air simmer" software, but it doesnīt seem like they have released anything yet. I tried searching everywhere on their site and forum for a release date, but donīt see anything. Does anyone know any information about this software? It really looks promising.

HansJansen
03-03-2009, 04:01 PM
Thanks for the link, it didnīt realise there is so man add-ons. In my search for airbus software though, I came across "air simmer" software, but it doesnīt seem like they have released anything yet. I tried searching everywhere on their site and forum for a release date, but donīt see anything. Does anyone know any information about this software? It really looks promising.

Hi,

As you said, it does look promising. I have also recently discovered that product, and have read my way through most of their forum. The only thing they will say about release dates is that it will occur this year (2009), and in that they sound very positive. So it may very well become true within the next few months...

totalflyer
03-03-2009, 11:51 PM
Well this will something to watch for sure... sound like a bunch of people have been waiting awhile but sounds worth it...

Just might have to change my mind and go with the A320 family first and then wait for them to come out with the A330/340 family afterwards... :)

Jeff

dvincent
03-04-2009, 03:59 AM
This might be a possibility too but it 's not for free.

http://www.airsimtech.com/Default.asp?Page=24

Greetz,

Dirk

mnovak22
03-06-2009, 12:29 AM
For me it is not a requirement that the software has to be for free, but it seems to me that AST seems to offer very little information about their product while still charging €900 for the advanced system.
I can not even find minimum requirements on their page. And for that much money, I would expect at least to be able to download a demo before investing so much.
Anyone actually have some experience with these guys? I would be interested to hear (not that I would be able to afford it anyways).

Michal

dvincent
03-06-2009, 01:53 AM
I don't know the guys at all. I just remebered the link.
And here is another one. For free:

http://www.vas-project.org

Greetz,

Dirk

TobiBS
03-06-2009, 06:37 AM
We are using the PRO version of AST at work and I like the simplicity in the software. You install the modules, set the IP of the server and adjust the display sizes and that's it.

Start and Shutdown of the software can be done centrally with a tool named iCFG, Navdatabaseupdates need only to be placed in an update directory and can then be updated with one click.

I don't know the difference between the PRO and ADVANCED version, but I think it is mainly that in ADVANCED you can buy what you need in specific packages, while the PRO setup is tailored for your needs.

Of course the software is not yet 100% completed, for example the MCDUs/FMGCs are not yet modelled as two sepaerate, you have one which can be accessed from both seats, but everything is prepared for the split.

vasFMC is a great OpenSource Tool, I know Alex Wemmer from the VACC SAG (now divided in Switzerland, Austria and Germany) forum and he and his fellows do a great job with that tool. If you are keen enough you have the definite advantage, that you can modify the source code to your needs, or contribute in the whole project, which would be a benefit for all. I know that he also handled special requests in the past, especially access via FSUIPC offsets and I think they do a great job on that software.