PDA

View Full Version : Hello- Introduction

PSmurfy
10-26-2008, 05:33 PM
Hi.

My names Phil. I'm from the UK and I'm currently studying a Mechanical Engineering Degree.

I am now in my final year and for my project I have decided to design a flight simulator motion platform. I was supprised (altho I dont' think I should have been in this day and age) to find a webside dedicated to doing just that :D.

I will keep you up to date on my progress and I may also occasionally ask a few silly questions :razz:.

I'm off to browse the forum now for some inspiration :D.

Phil

Efe Cem Elci
10-26-2008, 05:45 PM
Welcome to MyCockpit Phil!

We definitely could use some expert help with motion platform building and I'm sure you will find a lot of information and expertise here. Feel free to ask as many questions as you need (irregardless of their simplicity/complexity) as I'm sure many of us would love to find a cost-effective way to build a motion platform to supplement our cockpits.

Matt Olieman
10-26-2008, 06:14 PM
Hi Phil and welcome to MyCockpit.org If you don't get inspired here, you won't get inspired at all.... LOL :) :) :)

Lot's of info and fellow builders to help. Glad you decided to join in with our fun hobby :) :)

Matt Olieman

Michael Carter
10-26-2008, 10:50 PM
I Phil and welcome to the best builder site on the web.

If you need help just throw out a question. Someone will grab it up.

AndyT
10-27-2008, 03:18 AM
Ah motion! Love it love it love it!
We have motion pits here that range from wheelchair motors (Mine and at least 1 other) to hanging platforms that are wire controlled. There are some truly amazing ideas here. Please post yours and add to the insanity.

PSmurfy
10-28-2008, 08:32 PM
Thanks for the warm welcome :D

I'll keep you all up to date on how I am getting on.

I think my first task is to upgrade my computer tho as I think it will stuggle when it comes to stress analysing the CAD models :(

Phil

Tracy Hale
10-29-2008, 11:23 AM